A Museum a day keeps the Dr. away


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
April 8th 2010
Published: April 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sorry for not updating more regularly - this post may also end up being fairly novella-like. First off, Tuesday was the most amazing day - such nice weather...thanks for sending it!!

So, Sunday I had planned on starting the day early...but that clearly didnt happen. My friend Duncan and I decided to head over to the Right bank and check out what is supposedly the BEST view of the eiffel tour in the city. After a good breakfast at a little cafe we walked over to the Musuem of Natural History. From the steps of the museum there is the most incredible and unobstructed view of the eiffel tower. We did not even attempt to go to the top of the tower because the first Sunday of every month is free day in Paris so all the museums and attractions are free -- in other words, way too many people.

Coming out of the Metro we saw a sign for the wine musuem and thought why not?! Tres cool place - definitely a hidden gem. Emphasis on the Hidden! It is located where 3 short streets dead end. It was really interesting & the museum is in a cellar-type place. Learned a lot about the history of wine in the region and how to make champagne. It wouldnt be a very good wine museum if at the end we werent allowed to sample the product at the end 😊. Later that afternoon we met up with Duncans friend Claire at Pont du St Michel and walked around the Notre Dame area, the Marais, etc. It was a nice afternoon - warm and sunny so there were lots and lots of people out and about.

On Monday we finally made it to the Louvre! HUGE place - a lot of walking. Their egyptian collection was absolutely out of this world. Loved it. And of course saw the Mona Lisa, Venus de Milo and other important pieces. Didn't make it through the whole museum - I just don't think it is physcially possible in 1 day.
After the Louvre there was a period of sitting, and then we walked through the Latin quarter down rue mouftard which was a really interesting and cute street. Ended up getting free 10 minute massages which was amazing. Had an amazing dinner at a little restaurant down some side street - I think probably my best meal in Paris to date. After dinner we met up with Ivy, Alex and some of their friends for some beers at a little bar on the Seine.

Tuesday I started my classes at Alliance Francais de Paris. They run from 9am-1pm each day. Unfortunately, it is a bit of a repeat as I actually did this level already in Toronto last year - but the level I require is not running this week. But it is still a great, and probably necessary review (especially of the subjonctif). My class is really multicultural which is great - students from Japan, China, Argentina, Brazil, Italy etc. Tuesday was an absolutely beautiful day and I met up with Duncan after class for a picnic in Jardin du Luxembourg. We had an amazing picnic with fresh baguette, chevre, brie, and a bottle of wine. PFA. Absolutely delish - and I was able to check another thing off my to do list! That evening we went to the Canadian bar in Paris called "The Moose". It was a lot of fun. Started out pretty busy because of the soccer game but after that ended it was pretty much just our crew. Low key atmosphere and definitely a great way to spend an evening, if I were living in Paris I would probably be a regular. I knew the bartender was Canadian the second he gave us the wrong change and asked oh wait how much did I give you? and how much did you owe? it's okay I trust you ... That was the start of a long night, and lots of moosehead beer. We actually ended up closing the bar down - and by that I mean staying for about an hour after the bar was officially closed just finishing up our beer and chatting with the bartender, Dave from Toronto.

Yesterday, Wednesday, I stopped by the Rodin Museum (sculpture garden - the thinker...) It was neat! Afterwards, walked across the street to Hotel Des Invalides to see Napoleons tomb and the war museum. It was really over the top (Napoleon, not the museum)! It is amazing how revered he still is, and was so long after his death as this was created several years afer he died (his remains were exhumed and transfered to Paris from England). It was very over the top! Afterwards I went to the war museum which has some pretty neat stuff from the 18th and 19th centuries as well as a comprehensive exhibit on WW1 and WW2. They museum is located in the Hotel des Invalides - which Napoleon built for injured/disabled soldiers fighting his wars.

Today (Thursday Apr 8), I spent some time in the Marais after class (the old Jewish Quarter). Jason directed me to an amazing Falafel place called L'as de Falafel. It was pretty great! After a delish lunch I went to try my luck at Musee d'Orangerie - there is often a huge line. I lucked out and there was no one there! At this museum there is a huge Monet installation. In fact, the museum was constructed to hold huge versions of his water lilies. It was absolutely breathtaking. After spending quite some time at the Orangerie I went to see the Arch de Triumph. I didn't end up going to the top because there was quite a line and I really didn't feel like waiting. It wasn't really what I was expecting. I mean it's a huge stucture and all, but I think there are way cooler and more interesting places in Paris.

This evening after dinner I went back to the eiffel tower to see it all lit up. It's so beautiful. Jason and I were hoping to go up, but the tower closed about 30 seconds before we got there which was a bit dissapointing.

I am heading to Cannes (just outside) on Saturday morning for 2.5 weeks. Not really sure what to expect or what my set up is going to be there but I'm getting really excited to meet some new people and check out a new place. I will be sad to leave Paris because there is still a lot I want to do and I really love the city....oh well, just another excuse to come back another time.

ps. Mac Donalds sells beer.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb