From rehabilitation to recovery


Advertisement
Published: June 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

From Weinstadt to Laragne


Gütersteiner Wasserfall IGütersteiner Wasserfall IGütersteiner Wasserfall I

... not far from Bad Urach. We hiked there on a weekend.
I had two more weeks in the rehab hospital. Actually, I had been supposed to be there for three weeks altogether, but the doctor there extended my stay by one week. The last two weeks were not much different from the second week. Eight therapies per day. Try and do as much work as possible. On my last weekend, we did some more hiking. In my last week, I got one day off rehab because I had to travel to Bielefeld to talk to a customer. It was great to have an entire day for work, and I enjoyed the trip although I had to get up early and didn't get back until late. Another good thing was that I discovered a fantastic icecream shop. One day, we arrived back from the icecream shop that late that we thought we would be locked out of the rehab hospital, and the front door was indeed locked already. But we found another door that we could use, fortunately.

So finally I was discharged. The doctor said that I had no more restrictions, she just recommended me to wait two more months until I start running again. I'll have to do some more
Gütersteiner Wasserfall IIGütersteiner Wasserfall IIGütersteiner Wasserfall II

... another view...
physio, gym, and exercises in the pool, but that will be ambulant and not as intense as before. So I'm almost back to a normal life!

When I got home, I had just one week to do a whole bunch of paperwork and work and to get organised, and then we left for France. And my good friend Hetty came to see me for a day and a half, which was fantastic. We spent a lovely day in a fairytale garden not far from my place. Anyway, the hanggliding world championships will start next Monday in Laragne, France. I wanted to meet good friends, and I wanted to work as a helper during the comp. My mum wanted to join me, meet my friends and do some sightseeing in the area.

So on Saturday, we left for Geneva, where we spent one night, then continued to Lyon on Sunday, where we picked up Monica and Scott from the train station. They had arrived in Paris in the morning and caught the train to Lyon. Finding the train station was pretty hard, but finally we managed to get there. It was great to see Mon and Scott again, and
On the Marbach Horsebreeding FarmOn the Marbach Horsebreeding FarmOn the Marbach Horsebreeding Farm

Eating grass can be pretty difficult when the neck is still short...
I was all happy. We spent the afternoon in Lyon, doing sightseeing and having a most lovely dinner.

On Monday morning, we went to Lyon Airport in order to pick up three gliders - Scott's and Camo's comp gliders, and a spare. Getting them through customs was not a problem, and so I ended up with three gliders in boxes with around 150 kg altogether on the roof of my little Peugeot. But the car did a great job, and we arrived in Laragne in the early afternoon. Davis (US team) and Belinda arrived shortly after us, and so did Camo (Aussie team) and Rob (Dutch team). Blenki and Curt (both Aussie team), Curt's wife Louise, Christian (German team), and Primoz (Slovenian team) were already there, and so was the entire Russian team, including Julia, who will be the only female pilot in the comp, and Attila (from Hungary, the actual world champion). Later on, I saw Heather, the meet organiser, and Mart from the Dutch team, Carl (British team) and Jamie. And many others! It was just absolutely great to see everyone. So I spent all afternoon and evening wandering around, saying hello to everyone.

Today, mum
Bärenhöhle IBärenhöhle IBärenhöhle I

... cave not far from Bad Urach.
and I went to Sisteron, where there is an amazing citadel that we looked at and had coffee in the beautiful old village afterwards. Now, I'm back at the camp site, looking forward to another great afternoon with my friends.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Bärenhöhle IIBärenhöhle II
Bärenhöhle II

... where bear and human bones had been found.
Lichtenstein CastleLichtenstein Castle
Lichtenstein Castle

... not far from Bad Urach. The fairytale teller Hans Christian Andersen was inspired by that castle.
Hetty & KathaHetty & Katha
Hetty & Katha

... in the Ludwigsburg Fairytale Garden


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb