Barcelona day


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Cannes
June 10th 2011
Published: June 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So I woke up in Barcelona to find that most of the crew had already gone ashore as crew shore leave had been granted early.I grabbed my stuff and headed out to see what I could find. On the bus I met up with one of the dancers, Franchesco, and we decided to go around the city together as we both wanted to see La Grasse Famillia (apologies for awful spelling). Over the course of the afternoon we spent 3 hours walking around Barca, trying to take in as much as we can and stopping for expresso/Gaudis buildings.
Barca is such a vibrant and colourful city, everywhere you turn theres something else that assaults your colour perception wether it be fruit, veg, birds, tents, people or even the buildings.
We found La Grasse Familia and were slightly dissappointed by the size of the que and the fact they were renovating the outside. This being said, its still an amazing building with so many different sections and styles all melded into one thing. Once we were done there, we walked down into the park which is next to their parliment and found even more monuments which we had no idea what they
were called but still did the tourist thing and took photos as we messed around next to them.
Once we were back on board and I had set up, watched then struck one of the ships bands I decided to go and investigate the
royal spa on deck 9 as my knee has been giving me some trouble.
Even though I knew it was going to be good up there it didnt prepair me for it. There are several saunas, a hydro pool that doubles as a jacuzzi, hot rooms, cold rooms, showers with 7 different settings (ex tropical rain, cold fod, whirlpool etc)
then once I had experimented with all of them I had a long rest on the hotbeds, looking out across the med.I havnt felt that relaxed in years and I didnt want to leave.
That evening we had a very easy strike (removal and setup of theatre scenery, not banging into anything) so we were in the crew bar early to watch all the Americans go nuts over a taped basketball game. A couple of drinks later and bedtime reared its head.
Im writing this sat in my bunk waiting for crew shore leave to be granted in Cannes as its a tender port so we have to wait for
most of the passengers have disembarked. From deck Cannes looks amazing, yachts everywhere and massive hotels.
Once we get off I should definatley be able to start putting pictures up on facebook. Im going to try putting one of me and Francesco up with this, hopefully it should work.
Innabit everyone.x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb