The Great Flood & Roussillon


Advertisement
Published: May 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

RoussillonRoussillonRoussillon

looking back at the village from the road to the red cliffs hike
I woke up and was 2 minutes into my bath (I have no shower in my room) and suddenly there is a sort of urgent knock on my door. I call out that I'm in the bath but there is no response. There is more knocking as I get up and throw on a towel and a t-shirt saying "just a minute, just a minute," and before I get a chance to open the door I can hear somebody (who I then know must be Patrick) unlocking the door with his key. I open it up and Patrick is frantically wondering if I'm taking a bath. "Yes," I'm thinking, "look--I'm wearing just a towel." He explains that it is leaking downstairs and flooding the kitchen below me, and he looks at the bathtub and asks me not to use any water. Later on he informs me that they found that the "overflow" drain leads to know where. That's a good design. So then an hour later the morning had some more excitement as Rick, Kate, and I were at breakfast, wondering where Nancy was, as she was 15 minutes late for breakfast. Moments later we heard shouting, and I went to the door that leads up to all of our rooms, and there was Nancy, desperately trying to get our attention. I had locked the door on my way out (as I usually did), but that had also locked Nancy in and she had been yelling out windows for 15 minutes for us to let her out but we hadn't heard her. The touring portion of the day was to go to Roussillon, where ocher has been mined for hundreds of years, and many of the buildings are painted varying shades of red. The village was very nice, with little shops and restaurants, and it was high above most of the surrounding landscape, so there were views in nearly every direction. We walked around and did some shooting and shopping, and had lunch at a pizza place. Kate had spotted a BBQ in the backyard of a home next to the restaurant, and Rick wanted me to get the shot, but a lady came into the yard and started yelling at me in French and I didn't get it (the French or the shot). For dinner we had a BBQ at Patrick's, and Rick made beer butt chicken, his specialty. This was beer butt chicken Provencal, however, and it was especially excellent. We ate outside in the courtyard area and had great (and loud) conversations about film and politics until around 11pm when we called it a night.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb