Putz in the City


Advertisement
Published: January 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well this weekend I certainly got a taste of the infamous Mistral! Starting on Friday and lasting through the weekend we had quite a storm system move through. It rained buckets on Friday and Saturday and Sunday were some of the windiest days I've ever had. I walked down to the Gare Routiere on Saturday (because I had nothing else to do) and the wind was literally pushing me along part of the way. It was really nasty.

On Saturday, my plan was to walk all over town and see some of the things I haven't seen yet. So that's what I did. It was Putz in the City. Har har. I bought a bus pass for Fevrier and bought some books at the Book in Bar. I ate at PaniniAix by the Palais du Justice, and was about to head back home cuz the weather was so bad, but then decided to call Mollie and Bridget. So I did and it turned out they were at the top of the Cours Mirabeau and I was at the bottom. So we met in the middle. I chilled out with them (literally) and I found another english bookstore in the Quartier Mazarin! The selection of books at Paradox was abyssmal, but they redeemed themselves by also selling food products that the French don't appreciate! Like pancake mix and maple syrup and peanut butter. I didn't buy anything, but it's nice to know it's there.

Sunday rolled around and I read in my room for awhile, because the wind was still a-blowing. Eventually though I made the trek up to town because I needed some lunch. I eventually settled on Paul (a boulangerie) and had a first-rate tomato and mozzarella sandwich with olive oil. Yum. I had no place to sit, so I wandered the backstreets of Aix, eating my sandwich while I went. I bought a croissant at Emily Bec after I finished the sandwich and then washed it all down with a strawberry shake from Quick Hamburger. I drank the shake on the way back home and explored some inner courtyards along the Cours Gambetta, because I had nothing else to do and I was coming up on the last garbage can in sight.

I think an eating/walking tour of any city is a good way to go. But it has to be the right type of walking food. Not stuff you have to concentrate on. I could call it MangerMarche ... or eatalking ... or waleating .....or maybe not.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0153s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb