The anticlimax at Antibes


Advertisement
Published: February 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

St. Paul de VenceSt. Paul de VenceSt. Paul de Vence

Another medieval town that is now home to art galleries.
Today was a little more relaxed. First stop was St Paul de Vence, another hilltop medieval village, but not so high as Eze, nor as magical. It’s an artist colony now, and there were art galleries all along the main road, if you can call the wide alley through the village a road. We had a brief hour there and then hiked up to the Maeght Foundation Museum. It’s a private museum with tons of modern and contemporary art. There was a lovely water garden by Miro out back. A lot of artists have contributed their works and services to the creation of this museum. The art, as abstract as it is, made a lot more sense in the setting of the woods and the lovely building. Lots of natural light.

Then we were off for our final stop-Antibes. This was another spot on the coast, with lots of boats in the harbor and beautiful views of the sea. We ate at a café on the main drag and then walked along the sea wall. The Musee Picasso was our last stop and was one of the best oarts of the trip. Picasso had worked in this old fort for
Picasso museum sculpture gardenPicasso museum sculpture gardenPicasso museum sculpture garden

IAU students in the Musee Picasso sculpture garden in Antibes.
six months in 1946 and then donated a lot of his work to the city. The old fort has become the museum. The colors of the sea and land are evident in his work and I could imagine him walking along the shore, taking it all in. There was a beautiful sculpture garden out back, overlooking the sea. I loved the sound of the waves crashing into the rocks below. It was a very peaceful place. Made you feel good to stand there.

Then we had to leave. So Molly and I admired the boats a little longer, then got back on the bus and came back to Aix. I slept, as did many others. Some people had a much wilder night in Monte Carlo than we did.

When we got back to Aix I had to walk home. I found that my laundry had been done and my room cleaned. New sheets and everything was straightened. Made me feel sloppy. I called home and told Mom and Susie about my weekend. It was nice to hear from them. Whenever I call they’re always so happy. Whoever picks up always exclaims “It’s Sarah!” and tells everyone at home
Cocteau's TheaterCocteau's TheaterCocteau's Theater

Theater designed by the famous artist that is not open to the public.
to get on the phone. I like that.

I forgot to mention earlier that Bridget and I went exploring at our hostel in the early morning before breakfast and found the theater designed and created by Jean Cocteau. He did the old French version of "Beauty and the Beast" (I think). I loved the theater perched up above the water and surrounded by plants and trees. And you can't just walk onto the property and see it, so it was a rare opportunity.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb