Getting to know you...


Advertisement
Published: January 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today was the orientation for IAU. I woke up at 6:30am because I was afraid I'd miss the bus. I made it though and got to 2 bis early. They decided to move us over to the Cave aux Huiles. I'm not sure what that means, but the room was this long, stone tunnel like place. I imagined it used to be a wine cellar. We met the faculty of the university and had endless hours of meetings; I won't bore you with the details.

I met lots of nice people. Everyone seems to be very friendly here. I don't know, but maybe it's a certain type of person that is attracted to this program and France in particular. We had French placement tests at one point and when the results came back I was in the 200 level! That's good though, because the 100 level classes would not have worked in my schedule.

Oh and today was my birthday! When I got home on the bus today Arlette had bought three pink roses for me. It was so nice of her! I called mom and dad to "celebrate" with them. I had looked around a bit for a present for myself, but I didn't see anything I liked. I had a nice dinner though, and that sat down and watched Starsky and Hutch (in French) with Arlette.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb