A Lille Adventure


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Nord-Pas de Calais » Lille
December 20th 2013
Published: December 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys! Hope you're all well



This is my latest blog that will detail everything in the last month since I got back from my world trip!



Firstly, and most importantly, the week after I got back it was finally Graduation time! Although the night itself went far too quickly with just a couple of hours for the ceremony and drinks afterwards, we made the celebration last even longer by having a graduation night out on the Friday with almost all our Geography class!



Although I clearly drank too much it was a brilliant night out and really topped off the celebrations!



The following week I went with my family over to Towcester racecourse where I made £60 from my winning horse! And a couple of weeks later I went up to Birmingham to visit the christmas markets.



This brings us up to last week when I went with some of my uni friends to Lille in France for a day trip. It was a really long day, getting up at 3:45am to drive to Chingford, and not arriving back home until 1:20am the next morning...but it was a lot of fun! Great to spend some time with some uni guys again as well as see some new places - after all I'd been home for over 4 weeks by this point!! Ironically the weather in England at 5 in the morning was much warmer (about 9˚C) than it was in France for the whole day (about 5˚C).



After driving for just over an hour on the wrong side of the road and singing to Anastacia, we spent the day walking amongst the Christmas Markets, visiting the sights of the city (Cathedral, Fort, Man Square) and going shopping. Having gone to France on a simple day trip it really became noticeable just how different France is to England, despite it being just an hour's ferry away! And don't even get me started on the stinky cheese! My clothes stank of it all day!



Hope you all have a great Christmas!

Kevin.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb