THE REWARDS OF MY JOB


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Nord-Pas de Calais » Lille
November 29th 2007
Published: December 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I feel like a celebrity when I walk into that school. Every single student in CE2 and CM1 yell out my name: “Emily! ‘Ello Emily!” They cheer when they see me coming in, and they cheer when I come into their classes. When I enter the room, they rush to get out their English notebooks, which they have decorated with American and British flags. They are so excited to tell me what they know, and so excited to learn more. Yes, I have a class of what I secretly and semi-affectionately call hellchildren, but even they are still excited about learning. I feel so loved by them, and I feel like I can reach them sometimes more than their regular teachers, just because of my position coming in only twice a week to each class, and because of my age and being foreign.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb