TEACHING: FIRST IMPRESSIONS


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Nord-Pas de Calais » Lille
November 12th 2007
Published: December 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I taught for the first time today. I have eight different classes, all between the ages of 8 and 10, and either in CE2 or CM1. CE2 (that’s the name of the “grade”) children have never had English before, so I am their first-ever exposure to it. CM1 kids have only had the same twice-a-week English classes that I am giving them last year with the previous assistant. We played a game to introduce ourselves and give our ages, and we went over colors. I also talked to them (in French) about myself and where I come from. I showed them the States and where Ohio and Pennsylvania are located. I also tried to explain how much bigger the US is than France. Yes, I gave them a couple numbers, but I mostly used the example of driving in the States. I explained how you can drive for six to eight hours and not even leave one state sometimes. I explained how it took me 14 hours to drive from Ohio to Florida this summer. I told them that it would literally take DAYS to get to California. I showed them where Disneyland and Hollywood are.
Then I let them ask me questions. This is always my favorite part. The earnest, unfiltered questions that children are willing to ask are great.

Questions I got:
Do you know tons of movie stars?
Do you see special investigators solving crime all the time?
My mom says all Americans are stupid. Are you stupid? (!)
Did you vote for President Bush? (He was only 10!)
Do you eat hot dogs and cheeseburgers all the time?
Do all the boys wear baggy “gangster” clothes?
Do you have your own airplane?
Are you rich? My dad says all Americans are rich.


The list continues. I love them. Oh, and I also was asked my age. I had them guess. Here is a sampling of the guesses I got: 35, 30, 38, 25. For the record, I am 22 years old. Bottom line: these kids are going to be a TON of fun…and a lot of hard work. But they are still so excited about learning that I can’t wait to get started on more things with them!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.289s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0775s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb