I Have (been to) Le Havre


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy
February 1st 2006
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Girls In the ParkGirls In the ParkGirls In the Park

Allison, Andrea, and Alison on the bridge in the little park in Le Havre. Don't they look so chipper and happy??

I Have (been to) Le Havre



I figure I should recount my weekend adventures to Le Havre and also my stint as a photographer around Mt. St. Aignan. On Saturday (January 28), I met up with Andrea, Allison and Alison (same name, different spelling), and we decided to make our way to the Rouen train station to see what trains were going to the coast that day. Low and behold, there was one to Le Havre, and one to Dieppe. Considering it was already 12pm, we figured Dieppe would have warranted more than a few hours of wandering time. So we chose Le Havre, although none of us knew exactly what was to be found in the city.

After about a 45 min train ride, we were in Le Havre (6 euro ticket). It was currently 0 degrees outside - probably one of the coldest days I've spent here to be quite honest. We found a heater and warmed up beside it - which, for comical purposes, warranted a picture by Allison. From this point, we decided that the coast was the thing we came to see, and therefore, we headed out of the train station to a bus
Park PondPark PondPark Pond

Here's a pretty pond in the park. Please ignore the fact that the bottom of the pond is cement...
stop. We searched to see which route went to the coast, found it, and boarded the bus. After a bit of a mix-up due to our belief that our Rouen bus-cards would somehow work all over Normandy, we ended up with a free bus ride. I don't feel guilty. Free is free.

We got off as close to the coast as we could, and ended up finding a really cute park area with some great picture moments (as you can see).

At the coast, we walked as far as we could before getting to actual sand and/or rocks, looked around, took a few pictures, and decided to go for a walk around the town. One of the pictures we took warrants a bit of an explanation. It's the "butt" picture. Scroll down to see of course. This was a sculpture randomly on the street, with the caption beside it: "To reach the finish you have to start". There were several other artwork on the street, but I just took a picture of this one.

We almost went to see a movie but decided we were all more hungry, and opted to find a restaurant to fulfil our
Je T'(heart)Je T'(heart)Je T'(heart)

My favourite picture of the Le Havre trip. This was on the railing of the big gazebo in the park. It's simple but still means a lot.
hunger. The movies would have been English movies dubbed in French - something that would not benefit all of us - namely Andrea and myself whose French language skills are still blossoming! We found a cute (cheap) restaurant across from the train station and figured that was the best bet so as to not get us lost in Le Havre. Individual pizzas and shared iced cream desserts later, we were off to the train again. I'll spare you the details on dinner.

The train ride home was incredibly interesting considering we got a sleeper cabin to ourselves 😊 This was my first time in a sleeper cabin (and I was once again very excited to be on a train to begin with!). We thought it warranted some pictures, and a video taken by me. I don't think the video will play on here, but I'll try it out just in case.

I believe I'm going to post the Le Havre pictures on this page, and save it all, and then start a new page for my Mt. St. Aignan pictures. This weekend, the French students have organized a trip to the Loire Valley to see some castles and
The ChannelThe ChannelThe Channel

So this is the Channel. Sadly enough, the weather was iffy, and this was the extent of us being able to see England. I am unsure of what this boat is doing.
drink wine. Maybe it'll start me liking it? The weekend after that, of course, is our stint in England/Ireland/Scotland. I can't tell you how excited I am for that. I'll explain more next week I'm sure. Enjoy the pictures and the next entry as well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

City By the ChannelCity By the Channel
City By the Channel

I believe this city and this view in particular will be quite remarkable come spring/summer. I will have to return to see it.
The ButtThe Butt
The Butt

And this is the statue. Interpret as you wish. Note the bird droppings.
Happy GirlsHappy Girls
Happy Girls

This is us on the train. We're psyched!! L-R: Me, Andrea, Allison, Alison.
A Happy Kara AgainA Happy Kara Again
A Happy Kara Again

And there's me - with a very large smile. I may continue to take pictures of me on trains...


2nd February 2006

Funny!
Loved the butt picture--makes me wonder who posed for it???

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb