Par-tay!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy
June 17th 2007
Published: June 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, Flavien, M., and Mme. Martin went out of town to attend a baptism, while the rest of us hosted a small party. And let me tell you, it was interesting. And by interesting, I mean, awkward.

So, only a few people were there at first. I knew all of them through that campfire party I went to last week. The drinking started and I reached for the Coke instead. But to reaffirm the fact that I don't drink for more than one reason, I sipped their drinks. The first one was whiskey and coke and other one was something called De Jaune with water. If I had ever swallowed Listerine, I imagine that the two drinks would have been similar to that taste. One of the guys, Jeromie, decided that I should try something not as strong. So I had a glass full of Coke less than a bottle cap full of whiskey. It tasted better, but I still didn't like it enough to want more.

Awkward Moments:

Watching my host brothers dance on a wooden beam in the patio
Watching my French correspondant get drunk
Having my French correspondant teach me how to roll a joint
Being the only American there
Being the only sober one there
Watching people pee in the bushes when they know full well that there's a bathroom less than 20 feet away

But overall, it was fine. A little fun. I think I'll loosen up by the end of the month.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb