Thus Far


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy
June 12th 2007
Published: June 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

First of all, let me make it known that I'm sorry if there are a bunch of typos; I'm not used to the French keyboard yet, but I'm trying my best!

So I probably live in the cutest house that I've ever seen in my life. It used to be some kind of old building where people used to make cider or something like that, but they bought it and rennovated it into what it is now. Love it. Love the family.

--The differences between the French and Americans--
* They give the cheek kisses as greetings rather than hugs.
* They eat a lot of cheese. For serious.
* They like to smoke as much as they like to eat cheese.
* Their cars are a lot smaller (though I did see a Hummer two days ago...).
* They eat a lot of bread. And the bread goes on the table, not the plate.
* They seem to know a lot more about American pop culture than we know about French pop culture.
* Most people drive stick-shifts.

--The similarities between the French and Americans--
* Their teens are just like ours. I even saw one of the boy's friends smoke pot. Mind you, this was my second night in France, haha. Good times. But don't worry, friends, I did not partake in this activity.
* They've got things like Facebook and Myspace.
* We watch the same TV shows, though we're further along in our seasons. My family likes Smallville, Grey's Anatomy, and Prison Break.

Word/phrase of the day: Un tas de merde = A pile of s***. I taught them how to play Spoons, Kemps, and BS, so they taught me Un tas de merde. Yay for learning!

Story of the day: This happened my first night. Neither Quentin or M. Martin had arrived back from work yet, so I had dinner with Mme. Martin and two of the boys, Romain and Flavien. As we ate outside, they offered me something to drink. There were three bottles on the table: water, strawberry, and iced tea. I went for the strawberry whatever it was. It looked really thick, so I filled my cup about a third of the way and tasted it. And whoa. It was very sweet, slimy, and slightly repulsive. So I avoided that. Until about five minutes later, Sandrine (Mme. Martin) asked me about the drinks again. I held my cup and shook my head. She smiled and asked if it was too sugary, to which I replied "Oui." So she poured it out and that was then that the family decided to tell me that the bottles were syrup. Yeah. And I was supposed to fill like a tenth of my cup. Oops. But I've got it down pretty well now, but they still like to tease me about it. And apparently Flavien knew that I didn't know what I was doing and instead looked at his mother and brother and tried not to bust out laughing. Nice. I can tell he's lookin' out for me.



Advertisement



12th June 2007

Smallville!!!
ok, so what's smallville like in french??? we watched finding nemo in french right before finals, and it was absolutely hilarious..... miss you!!! oh, and miss stanford, i am going to morehead for math ed, but we can talk about that more when you get home.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb