One foot before the other


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Nîmes » Lasalle
April 3rd 2009
Published: April 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Arrival


Before the ship sails



This is how I begin again. I set off into the unknown with only a destination in mind until my feet send me searching for new places to find.
My flight leaves Dulles airport in D.C. Monday, April 6th around 7p.m. I will arrive in Dublin for a lay over before going on to Paris. After I reach Paris I will continue by train to Nimes where my friend will pick be up for about an hour drive to the small medieval village of Lasalle. A total of 20 hours of travel are involved in reaching my destination and what awaits me is a warm home, beautiful arid landscapes and an organic farm to tend to beside friends.
I will be staying with Atoussa whom I befriended in Peru a year and a half ago. It was in the jungles that we became like sisters, spending two weeks at Myantuyacu to study with the shaman Juan Flores near the border of Brazil. After this great adventure and uplifting experience we remained in touch and I visited her in the winter of last year. Since my return to the states I have longed to travel for a
View of LasalleView of LasalleView of Lasalle

Taken last year when I visited for the first but not last time.
more extended period of time and have managed to see a bit of Spain last year as well. But I was left unsatisfied with brief, limited excursions into unknown places. I was determined to turn things around so that my life would be filled with new places, people and experiences.
After going through the rigors of the Peace Corps application process and being continuously let down with programs I did not make it into I decided that my ticket to freedom involved my own actions and the opportunities people presented me with. It really is about who you know. I realize how important networking is more and more as I grow older. There is always an open door and a helping hand to encourage you on your journey and this one has begun no differently.
For now I wait in my Richmond, Virginian home longing for a village I have not seen in over a year. Anxiety and excitement plague me daily but I know as soon as I arrive all the nervous fear will dissipate into wonderful joy. I have a new life waiting for me and it will begin in France and lead me to destinations I have only dreamed of.
This is the first step.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



3rd April 2009

I am certain it will be a splendid journey! I wish you all the best and send postcards too!! I want postcards!! Big hugs, Gillian
3rd April 2009

Happiest of trails love...
I am continuously in awe of you, and have been for the past seven years! I hope you can feel the pride and excitment I am sending from my heart to yours. May joy find and embrace you at every turn along this journey you are embarking on. I know that there are many new people that will be blessed with having you come through their lives... just as I have felt blessed by knowing you since the day we met. I cannot wait to go on this adventure with you through the stories you will be sharing! Brightest blessings sweetheart, T
5th April 2009

The Omnivore's Dilemma
Have you read this book? It is a MUST READ if you are going to work on an organic farm. If you don't have it, please send me your address and I will send you a copy. Love, Robin
6th April 2009

Omnivores
Of course I have read this book! I adore the work and did a lot of research on food studies while in school.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb