Last Entry


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Montpellier
May 22nd 2006
Published: May 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello to all!

Today is my last full day here in France and I'm writing one last entry of what I've been up to before I head home tomorrow and can tell you all in person about my experinces.

So this past week, since last Friday I've been doing some traveling. Last Friday night I left Montpellier for Germany to visit a friend. She lives in Stuttgart and studies in Reutlingen. I stayed with her till Tuesday morning. Saturday I went on a day trip with her and some other students from her university. We were in Southwestern Germany right near the Swiss border. We first went to this place called Lochmule where there were these obstacle courses high up in the air and trees. It was a lot of fun, and I'll have to show pictures to help better explain! After that we went to Lake Konstanz and took a ferry across it to the little town of Konstanz. There we walked around the city and had some lunch. After that we went to a wine tasting place for 2 hours and tried about 6 or 7 different wines.

Sunday I went home to Stuttgart with Vannessa for the night to visit her family and so she could take me around town. It's a beautiful town and region of Germany. We met up with some of her friends that night and had a doner kebap and some german beer. lol. Monday we headed back to her university because she had class in the afternoon so I did some shopping and walked around the small town of Reutlingen. Tuesday I left Stuttgart for Munich. I spent the day in Munich and took a city bus tour that showed you all the main sites. I was on a bus with a bunch of German senior citizens so she did the tour in German and English for me. It was great. I then walked around the center of town and went in all the stores. Tuesday night I left for Salzburg, Austria and got to the train station around 5AM,so i hung out there till about 8AM. I then took a taxi to where I had to be because I had reserved a tour for THE SOUND OF MUSIC. They do tours that take you around the city and into the Alpes showing you different spots and places that were filmed in the movie. It lasted 4 hours and was awesome. I loved every second of it and took many photos so I'm looking forward to watching the movie when I come home to see where I was. The tour also took us to a small town called St. Gilgen which is where Mozart's mother was born. After the tour I walked around the Mirabell Gardens which is where they filmed most of the song "Do-Re-Mi" before heading the old city of Salzburg and walked aroudn there and did some shopping for a few hours before heading to the train station to catch my next overnight train to Rome, Italy.

Thursday was spent in Rome. I arrived around 9 AM and spent most of the day, till about 6 walking around and trying to find the main sights to see. I first went to the Vatican museum and walked around there for about 2 hours. That was pretty cool. I then took the metro to the Colleseum and walked around ther for about an hour with an audio guide. I then walked up the street by all the ruins and took some photos before venturing off down all the little roads to find the Fontana di Trevi, which i did after about an hour or so. Rome was a little tricky and plus I was getting really tired. I saw some other things, had some gelato, and then headed back to the t rain station. I had some dinner and found an internet cafe to check my email,etc. I took another overnight train to NICE, France and because the train from Italy arrived in Nice about a half an hour late I missed my train back so I had to get antoher train, but everything worked out fine.

It's been quite the adventure these past 3 and half months or so and I'm ready to head back home. I know I'll be back in France sometime in the future, so I'm not sad. lol. oui oui papa, it's not the last. 😉 Tonight I'll take an overnight train back to nice to catch my flight from nice at NOON. I'v'e had a lot of fun and will forever remember the good times and the friends I've made.

Hope all is well at home and looking forward to seeing you all!

Ciao et gros bisous!

kristen

Advertisement



22nd May 2006

Great trip!
Kris, What a great trip. You forgot to mention the hofbrauhaus in Munich, the wine in Italy, the good beer in Austria,... I was in that garden in Salzberg, around 3 AM walking home from a night out. Sounds like you saw it all. Get home safe
22nd May 2006

hurry home
we can't wait to see you! love, Mom
22nd May 2006

I'm glad to hear that you had a safe trip. It was good seeing you again! I hope you liked it.
19th September 2008

travelling out of monpellier to stuttgart
Could you be so kind as to let us know how you travelled from montpellier to stuttgart as we cannot find an airline that does that trip. You had a lovely holiday. Jeanette

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb