Tour de France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
July 23rd 2012
Published: July 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Paris

I was at left hand mark, Joan of Arc is at right hand mark

This blog is really just for Emma's Grampy as Sunday was totally dominated by the Tour de France, as was Paris. All the websites suggested finding a place to stand at least 2 hours before the Publicity Caravan was due, which is 2 hours before the cyclists are expected! I decided that I didn't want to be standing for that long and as I was also leaving the girls at the apartment I left home about an hour before the caravan was scheduled. I was surprised how easy I found a good spot right on the barrier alongside the Tuileries, there were less people than I thought there would be, although it did get busier especially just before the actual racers arrived. Apparently people camped overnight on the Champs-Elysees! The publicity caravan was interesting but disappointingly we didn't get any of the promised giveaways, I think they were running short and kept some for the Champs-Elysees where there were more cameras, coz we saw kids with stuff later. When I got back to the apartment all the supermarkets were closed so we decided to go to McDonalds on the Champs-Elysees. We were surprised that the road was still closed and crowds everywhere, since the race finished 2 hours earlier! Amazing atmosphere and I can say I was there when the first Brit won the Tour de France!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb