One amazing weekend


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 12th 2006
Published: September 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

PartyPartyParty

With the Birthday girl, Heloise.
After a week that was a bit rough, I had a really great weekend. It actually started Thursday, after I spent three hours running around Paris (a little game we played with the International students). Dinner with the girls was amazing and it felt nice to discover a new quarter of Paris (the real Latin Quarter, not the touristy one). But I think I mentioned that in the last blog. The real fun began Friday night, when I came to Heloise's b-day party. All my fear went away - people were so nice, and I talked all night - sometimes in English, since there was an American girl there who didn't speak any French (extremely cool nevertheless). After the party, we went out to a boite (name for a club or disco in French), where we danced till the morning. I find french boys very amusing, especially when they are drunk - like little kids, but I guess that is the same everywhere. Saturday was just as amusing - I went to a flea market in the afternoon(once I finally got up), which is really a cultural experience. First of all, it is huge! I spent 3 hours just walking around.
PartyPartyParty

funny French boys
There are people, music, food, etc. from all over the world - lots of black and Middle Eastern influence. I don't think I ever enjoyed going to a market that much. And I found some really gorgeous necklaces there, to top it all off. That same night our group went on a boat tour of Paris. I have never seen anything that amazing - Paris is truly most beautiful at night. Passing under the old bridges was a very unique experience. I even saw the mini statue of liberty (but my battery died by then, so no picture!). And Sunday, I spent the entire day in Versailles. We went as a group again, so it was a bit tiresome waiting on everyone, and hence I didn't get to see everything. We also missed the fountaine show (they only work for 1.5 hours on the weekends). However, Versailles didn't impress me as much, since I just came back from St. Petersburg and I found Petergof whole lot more fascinating. That night I enjoyed dinner in the German house, with a friend of mine and a bunch of other Germans (who can all speak french, luckily for me).

So, I think I am really starting to enjoy my life here more and more. Of course, I have my little problems, but I think I found a good group of people to hang out with and Paris has so much to offer! I will never be bored here. I am starting to understand (remember) why I came here - to experience something amazing, and that is exactly what I am doing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

PartyParty
Party

the girls - very international - Spanish, Russian, America, and French
PartyParty
Party

The club was in a boat, so that was kinda cool and unusual
Paris at nightParis at night
Paris at night

Eiffel Tower!
Paris at nightParis at night
Paris at night

Notre Dame
Paris at nightParis at night
Paris at night

Under the bridge with my future roommate, Anya
Paris at nightParis at night
Paris at night

Pont Neuf (New bridge), which is actually very old
Paris at nightParis at night
Paris at night

Eiffel tower and the moon
VersaillesVersailles
Versailles

inside the Grand Appartaments, where the King used to live
VersaillesVersailles
Versailles

Hall of Mirrors
VersaillesVersailles
Versailles

Napoleon
VersaillesVersailles
Versailles

simply beautiful!
VersaillesVersailles
Versailles

Silvia, me and Stefanie taking a short break outside of Petite Trianon
VersaillesVersailles
Versailles

Outside of the Petit Trianon
VersaillesVersailles
Versailles

Marie Antoinette's little villge
VersaillesVersailles
Versailles

Neptune's fountain


17th September 2006

miss you
Ulechka, nakonec-to ya prochitala ves' tvoi jyrnal. Ti -prekrasnii pisatel' . Pishesh' -" kak po-masly". Razvivai svoi talant i praktikyi English. Tvoi jyrnal teper' in"Favorites" i ya otkrivau ego kajdii den'. Spasibo za " priyatnyu vstrechy" s toboi. Lublu i krepko celyu. Mama.

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.052s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb