Xmas 2014 - Paris: Day 2


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
December 19th 2014
Published: December 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I slept in a little later today and waited for my friends to set a meeting time. And waited. I decided to walk around the neighborhood a bit to grab a bite to eat and see if I could find the Christmas market here. I wound up getting turned around a few times and headed back; I also did not like my ham and cheese panini thing. I only ate a third, but it was enough to satisfy me for now.

I finally met up with them at the Louvre. I guess we kept missing each other there; it was pouring rain and Chris had been walking around looking for me for about twenty minutes while I waited to try to catch them if they walked by. In that time, I saw the line triple in size. We sat in a cafe for a bit and discussed what to do. We decided to maybe come back later that afternoon and maybe the line would be much shorter. Then we headed down to the Champs-Elysees to see their famous Christmas market. It was a long walk past the ferris wheel to the market, which lined both sides of the street almost up to the Arc d' Triomphe. I have to say… this Christmas market was hyped up and I was a little disappointed. It was a nice area and maybe it is great at night, but none of us were impressed by the stores selling cheap clothes and such - we wanted authentic crafts, which were only about every other stall. Still, Chris bought some salami and I am actually a bit jealous; I may have to get some myself tomorrow so I have a snack on my upcoming train journeys. We also stopped and some Champagne, followed by hot wine. Again - it is something you have to do, but not a fan.

Next, we decided to head all the way over to the other side of town, in the Maris neighborhood because Elissa had heard about this store Merci she really wanted to see. We figured along the way we would find a place to chill and eat. About 40 minutes later we realized we were still only halfway, wet, exhausted and hungry. We finally walked down a side street and found a french restaurant. For the first time this trip, we were rudely rebuffed as they stoutly
Excellent Italian RestaurantExcellent Italian RestaurantExcellent Italian Restaurant

off Rue St Augustin on Rue Monsigny
told us they were closed. Ok, so we went across the street to an Italian restaurant and we were thankful about getting rejected because this place was absolutely fantastic. We ordered a bottle of wine for me and Elissa and it was seriously delicious - the best wine I have had on this trip and actually for a long time. I ordered the tortelloni with squash and it was sooooo good! It was a fairly light Italian meal (is that an oxymoron??) so while we were satisfied we didn't feel gross. The staff was also fantastic!

We then moved on to continue our journey, only was raining much steadier by now. So we booked it. For once in my life, I was able to keep up! We were halfway there at the restaurant, but wound up making it to the store about 15 minutes later. Nice. The store was pretty cool and this neighborhood definitely screamed for Elissa, so I was glad for her sake that we made the effort.

After the store, we had forgotten about returning to the Louvre and decided to pop into Musee Picasso instead. Apparently this place just recently reopened after a major refurbishment. It is beautiful. Very tasteful and well presented. If you've read my previous blogs, you know I'm not a fan of modern art. For Picasso, I was willing to make an exception. I actually did enjoy the museum (though Lucy loved the echo sound of her short cries, so it was a little delightfully embarrassing too!), but man this dude was bat-sh*t crazy. A little frightening actually. And I can't believe there are so many of his works in this one place. That actually is amazing.

We then decided to split up and go home. I got turned around upon leaving and was dreading walking home in my heeled boots any further. But determined if I had to. Fortunately after about 10 minutes walking I found a cab who took me the rest of the way. I grabbed a sandwich, beer and water and went to my room. The first thing I did was ran a long hot bath. Aaaaaahhhhh…..



Steps walked today: 21,890 (9.18 miles)


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



19th December 2014
Best bottle of wine yet!

Best bottle of wine
Keep looking for that next best bottle. Ah, a perfect place to spend the holidays. Keep those blogs coming.
25th December 2014
Best bottle of wine yet!

Bottle drinking in progress
I was able to contain myself long enough to open it last night (Christmas Eve). The bottle is huge, so I still have plenty to drink today and I imagine tomorrow too. It is seriously one of the best wines I've ever had.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 20; qc: 24; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb