Addendum


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 2nd 2012
Published: August 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sooooo, I am starting to get things a little mixed up, and in my last post about Paris, I glossed over our afternoon ramble. In looking back through the pictures, however, I find that this was the afternoon that we walked through the Lourve castles, ate a picnic lunch in the Jardin des Tuileries, and walked up to the Luxor Obelisk in the Place de la Concorde, peering down the Avenue des Champs-Elysees at the Arc, wondering how in the world they were going to get this area all ready for the end of the Tour de France the next day. At that point, the day before, there were a few signs up about not being able to go here or there, but that was all the preparation.

Fea's very favorite thing, as you will notice from these and future pictures, is a fountain. She is a true water baby, and any body of water gets her all excited. Unfortunately for Hank and I, this also means we have to make sure she doesn't actually crawl into the fountain, as she really wants to do!

I got schooled by the dude selling me a sandwich and a bottle of water in the garden, as I could NOT, for the life of me, remember the word for "water" in French. So I just said, "Water? Water?" and pointed, giving him an apologetic smile (I did just order the damn sandwich using my best French!). He kind of gave me a snooty look and said "Eau." And then charged me an insane amount of money for a sandwich and a bottle of water.

We walked back to our apartment past the Assemblee Nationale - Liberte! Egalite! Fraternite! - and down St Germain, through the street market selling lots of nice, local items alongside serious plastic crap. We ended up in a brasserie just around the corner from our apartment, ordering some YUMMY lasagne for Fea and a light snack of moules marinieres (with pommes frite of course!) for us. THEN we went back to the apartment and made a huge meal of ravioli and such. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb