Mon jour en Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
April 17th 2009
Published: January 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Since I arrived in Paris early in the morning, not many things were open. The first place I visited was the Notre Dame Cathedral, which opened before anything else in France. I took a short walk to the Jardin du Luxembourg, which is a beautiful park. I walked to the Parc Du Champs de Mars, which is another park with some awesome sights, the most notable being the Eiffel Tower. Of course I had to go up the Eiffel Tower while I was there. I decided to take the steps instead of the elevator since it would be a good exercise (not to mention much cheaper and would save me at least 30 minutes of waiting in line). It was 328 steps to the first floor, and I was exhausted. I walked around to take in the sights, and then I realized there was another set of stairs going to a higher level. I knew that I couldn’t ignore them, so I continued climbing until I got to the 700th step and entered the second floor of the Eiffel Tower. Anything above that required going in elevator, and I knew that I didn’t have time to wait in the line. Thankfully, they provide another elevator free of charge that you can use to go down the Eiffel Tower.

I next went to the Arc de Triomphe, but again I took the shorter and cheaper route by avoiding going inside the arch. I followed the Avenue des Champs-Elysees through some pretty interesting sights until I reached the Musee Du Louvre. This is famous for its glass pyramid, its many sculptures, the Mona Lisa, and the French Crown Jewels (which I didn’t find as impressive as the English or Scottish).

The day was getting late, so I returned to the Eiffel Tower in hopes of seeing it lit up before I left. Unfortunately, the light lasted longer than I had expected because France is a time zone ahead of England. I hadn’t realized this until our coach driver warned us upon entering France, and I was extremely thankful that he did because otherwise I might have missed my coach back. I still had to hurry from the Eiffel Tower back to the station without getting to see it all lit up. Oh well, it had been an amazing trip regardless.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb