Let Them Eat Cake!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
December 20th 2011
Published: December 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

VersaillesVersaillesVersailles

Can you see our European doppelgangers??
Out of the Metro Area

We headed out to Versailles today. It is out of the usual metro ticket line so we had to ask for some help. Getting rejected in those turnstyles with about 20 impatient French behind you is not pleasant. This train is a double decker, maybe bc it heads out to the suburbs and has to cart all the poor Parisians to work all the time. That is where I would be if I lived here.

The Vast Fortune of the French Royals

Versailles is enormous. And elaborate. And gilded in gold and marble...everywhere. Originally built by Louis XIV it housed a couple of generations of King Louis ending with Louis XVI and his wife Marie-Antoinette, which we all know didn't end well. The little guide that talks to you was pretty helpful, and didnt drone on too long in each spot. This place was filled with tons of people but it flowed pretty well. The gardens were well, vast and sad looking in winter. I am sure they are magnificant in the spring though. Took a picture with famous bust of Rene Descartes, just to be a math nerd, hmm...well at least I
Room in VersaillesRoom in VersaillesRoom in Versailles

Marble and gold everywhere
knew he was famous mathematician.

Hall of Mirrors

OK, both A and I thought this hall of mirrors had mirrors on BOTH sides. I know I have been somewhere and seen this. He claims it was here when he was young (obviously not), I think it was either Fountainbleu or one of Crazy King Ludwig's castles in Germany. Anyone help me out?

Dinner

Dinner was at a cafe called Marco Polo, I guess it was trying to be worldly with globe lights handing down. A had salmon and I had the blanche pizza...followed by a nutella crepe. Someone needs to jump on this delish craze in the US.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0843s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb