Last day in Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 7th 2011
Published: September 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Oh my god, I could have cried today! We got to the Louvre for the first stop on our day of art, only to find it is closed on Tuesdays. Most galleries/museums in Europe close on Mondays, so we have planned our days around this. The only saving grace was that we were only a metro stop or two from the jeweler on the Rue de la Paix that we visited yesterday, Isabelle Langlois, so we made a trip back to have a look at a ring that was at an exhibition yesterday, so we were not able to see it in the shop, but they had promised it would be back today. I didn’t buy that ring, but found another beauty, and conned John into the purchase. This jeweler is an artist after my own heart. She talked about how her pieces are like a posy of flowers, as she uses many coloured stones in each piece. Beautiful, beautiful pieces!

Later we strolled/limped around the Musee D’Orsay (art gallery with many Monet, Van Gogh, Degas and other extraordinary artists on exhibit). I am afraid I didn’t do it any justice, as I could hardly walk by this time. We have walked to the top of the Pantheon, the Arc de Triomphe and from one side of town to the other, and up and down the metro steps 50 times. I think I have walked more steps in the last 3 days than I have in my whole life!

We have been stunned by the fact that with every single meal we have purchased since arriving in Paris, they all come with Insalata Verde (Green Salad). I have learnt that salad in Paris seems to consist only of lettuce with some dressing. Even our breakfast omelet comes with lettuce!

It seems that smoking is still fashionable in France, unlike Australia. You can smoke in the outdoor or semi outdoor parts of restaurants, and many shopkeepers, waiters can be seen standing just outside the door of their shop to have a cigarette. This reminds me of the days working back at Deloittes in 1990!

Before coming, I had read that the cinema is a popular attraction and most French and Italians go to the movies about once per week, and it is surprising to see so many cinemas dotted around on every second corner nearly in the area we are staying. Pity the movies are in French probably without subtitles, or we could enjoy a movie night.

We are off to Lake Maggiore tomorrow for the start of our month in Italy, so this afternoon we will pack then go out to enjoy happy hour which seems to go for about 4 hours at the bars around our accommodation. John has found a sports bar so we will check out if the rugby is on.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb