Days 2 & 3 in Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 2nd 2011
Published: September 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone

Well I finally figured out how to put photos on here (I think) so will post some more tonight. I am staying in a lovely little hotel called Hotel Britannique, one street back from the Seine and a block from the Louvre.
Yesterday I walked (and walked) up past Opéra de Paris Garnier to Galeries Lafayette, a massive department store. Printemps, a rival store, is next door. I think anything you need to buy can be found at these two stores. Then back past the hotel to the two islands in the Seine, the Ile de la Cite (where Notre Dame is) and Ile St-Louis. I kept going down to Gare d'Austerlitz, which is the station I am leaving from tomorrow. I wanted to get my bearings and make sure I knew where I was going, and yipee, no stairs. Very difficult to climb stairs with suitcases - my arms are still aching from when I arrived. I was so exhausted from all the walking that I (finally) found a little grocery store, bought a salad and snickers, went back to my hotel and crashed at 9pm. I know, I know - in Paris and buying packaged food. This morning went much better, probably because I had a plan. I had petit déjeuner (breakfast) at the boulangerie around the corner - I am now a coffee convert. I usually drink tea, but I asked for a café creme and it was delicious. I purchased a ticket for the open air bus from the tourist office and did a two hour bus tour around the main sites i.e. Eiffel tower, Champs Elysee, Notre Dame. Much better than walking. It is a lovely sunny day in Paris today, quite hot. The open air buses offers four routes, so I took an hour to find the next stop (that sense of direction again). This one took me up to Monmartre, which wasn't as interesting, quite a seedy area actually. This is where the Moulin Rouge is - I was surprised how small it is. I am now back in my hotel room recovering, very hot and sweaty after walking the block back. I plan on venturing out in a couple of hours for a meal - I still feel very nervous about getting a table in a cafe. I havent done it yet. I think Im nervous about trying to speak french - I have no idea what anyone is saying!! By the time Sean gets here, I should be much improved (hopefully). I wasnt going to put any Eiffel Tower photos up (everyone knows what it looks like) but it really is impressive close up so ....stand by.
Alicia - yes, I felt very snobby in first class and yes, it was worth it! Say hi to all at work if you get this while you are at SDH.

à la prochaine

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb