Comin full circle


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 2nd 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well the countdown to the end of this 3 month dream life I have been leading is beginning...I fly back to NY on the 14th...holy crap that is way too soon!!!

Just arrived to Paris, one of our first stops and I am happy to report that I have been greeted by the sun instead of the biting cold and fog that we encountered the first ti,e around back in March.

And although the city is beautiful, I must say I am feeling a little blue to have left the mountains and the friendly Mountain Town of Chamonix.

While in Chamonix I stayed at the most amazing hostel...if you can call it that...it was more like staying at an old friend's home for the week in the middle of some of beautiful scenery and in the company of great people.

Once again my travels have proven to me that life experiences are truly enriched by the people you share them with. I had the good fortune to meet some great people while in Chamonix, two people specifically, Kelly and Annika fro, Australia. Kelly is working at the Red Mtn. Lodge for the summer (LUCKY GIRL!) and Annika, one of her friends from Australia was visiting for the week. Annika and I ended up being two of just four guests in a cozy mountain lodge (We had the whole place to ourselves for two of the nights) with a complete view of Aguille di Midi and Mont Blanc (the higest peak in Europe) from our bedroom window.

Although I did my fair share of hiking solo taking in the endless beauty of the mountains and glaciers, I was lucky enough to share a lot of time with these two girls as well...our last night in Chamonix, we had big plans of hitting up the local bars, but ended up making dinner together around 7 and not moving from the table for hours of conversation except to get more red wine and chocolate!

I didn't actually get to see Mt.Blanc until the 3rd day I was in town. On Wednesday morning we woke up for the first time to blue skies (instead of the snow 😊) qnd crystal clear views of the peaks of the Alps. I immediately laced up my running shoes and hit the road for a run and think I could have gone on
Pain?  The French word for bread...Pain?  The French word for bread...Pain? The French word for bread...

ONly true when you eat a whole one for breakfast.
for hours (although I might have frozen) enjoying the views.

I could go on and on about the Alps, but I will spare everyone reading and hope to get some pics posted while in Paris (although they will not do the alps justice).

Shannon Clark and Dave from good ol P town are in Paris right now (small world) so I am hoping to meet up with them in the next couple of days as I explore the streets of Paris; the Louvre; Musee d'orsay, maybe head over to the French open etc...




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

New Cheese Discovery...New Cheese Discovery...
New Cheese Discovery...

Gouda with Cumin...discovered at Super U in Chamonix...really yummy stuff!


3rd June 2006

15 more days until I see you, can't wait!
What beauty in nature, my beautiful niece.

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb