Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 13th 2010
Published: October 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I decided to go to Paris because I felt obligated to go. You can't go to Europe and not see Paris, and it's an important capital with great art, plus the ticket was dirt cheap (20 Euro!). Despite its hype I was determined to 'prove Paris wrong'. I didn't want to love Paris, it seemed like a place of cliches, haughty people, and uptight expensive food. In coming home, all I can say is damn. Paris has won another lover, and I can't wait to go back. As much as I hate to admit it, I absolutely positively loved Paris. There isn't a single experience I can complain about. Sure, my hostel was horrendous, but you know what? It made me feel even more in the moment. I could gush about my passion for Paris, but I suppose some people may want to know why.
My first day in Paris I trolled the Lourve for three hours, feeling incredibly overwhelmed. The Baroque palace-turned-museum so full of art, it all starts to blend together. I was exhausted and done after seeing a third of the museum. I felt a little ashamed that I only made it that far, but I guess it is what it is. I followed up with a shopping trip near the Lourve, and a walk to the Eiffel Tower, which I found a little lackluster, although a lot bigger than I had expected.
That night I wondered to Moulin Rouge alone, probably not the wisest decision, but it was cool to see nonetheless. I kept thinking of 'The greatest thing you'll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return' from the movie, and feeling like quite the lonely romantic since my wonderful boyfriend was (and is) a 13 hour plane ride away. I suppose the Eiffel Tower would have been a more appropriate place for these musings as opposed to a glorified whorehouse, but I guess I've always been a bit unconventional.
That night, I made friends with a girl in my hostel from Brazil and we decided to go to Versailles together the next day. I can honestly say that I would have beheaded to pair of them too, that place is insane. The palace is classic Baroque and impressive, but the gardens are the jewel of the establishment. Standing in Louis XIV backyard and looking out over the immaculate and gigantic gardens, I felt the luxury and also the anger. I was standing there, feeling and living history. It was amazing to just sit on a bench imagine what France's poor must have thought seeing how their rulers lived. I'm so grateful for AP Euro, and I owe Mr. McG a big thank you, because I think I definitely appreciated Versailles more than the average tourist.
Friday I had to switch hostels, and I ended up at this horrid little building that charged 6 Euro an hour for internet, and only had one key for each room, which led to girls banging on the door to be let in at 2am. But I met a wonderful Swedish girl, Julia, and we bought dinner and ate it on the steps of a gothic cathedral and then walked from Arc du Triumph to the Eiffel Tower in the night. I have to say the Eiffel Tower at night surpasses all expectations. It completely transforms and becomes that mysterious, beautiful cliche it's meant to be. I'm almost embarrassed to say it, but it took my breath away when it started to flicker like Christmas lights reflecting into the Seine.
My last morning in Paris I went
VersaillesVersaillesVersailles

Hall of Mirrors
to a market with two girls who had been working as Au Pairs in Greece. Taylor was from California, and Melody from Australia, and they were the funniest girls I've met in quite a while, and I had a great time with them and ate some great food too. It was a wonderful way to end a great 'weekend' in Paris. The only thinks I would change about my trip: more time, more money, and more Parker.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

GardensGardens
Gardens

Yup, they had it coming, but it's beautiful
Notre DameNotre Dame
Notre Dame

I ate crepes in from of the cathedral from a stand called Quasimodo
Eiffel Tower at NightEiffel Tower at Night
Eiffel Tower at Night

My camera died when the flickering lights came on. I was upset.


31st October 2010

nice
very nice Katie

Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb