Paris-0904-0907


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 8th 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

THE ZB RESIDENCE
I arrived in Paris early morning Friday. By the time I got home (Mandy's house, 15th arrondisment/neighborhood) it was about 9:00 am...What can I say about Paris...Only that it is a city that romances you, flirts with you...I love it...in order to overcome the jet lag quicker, Mandy a veteran traveler, suggested we take a walk around her neighborhood to St. Germain de Pres. We strolled the different streets, had tartin for lunch and coffee and desert at the Les Deux Magots cafe in front of the St Germain De Pres church...Apparantly this cafe along with its neighboring cafe de Flor was patroned by many writers and poets such JP Sartre and Simone de Beauvoir...We also visited the church of Saint Suplice where the Davinci Code was filmed...I love the apartment and the neighbrhood...It is walking distance to all the above, the Eiffel tower, and Les Invalides...You can see the Eiffel tower from the balcony, where after sunset, it sparkles at the hour for a few minutes...
Saturday was The local Saturday Marche, The Gardens of Luxembourg, where little Cyrus does his poney rides, the Latin Quarters, the Notre Dame de Paris, and the Sorbonne...
Mandy, Rodolphe, Cyrus, and I spent
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

THE OLIVE KIOSK AT THE LOCAL SATURDAY MARCHE
Sunday at the Versaille...This was the first time for me visiting the palace...I was impressed...Cyrus was a little gem...He enjoyed looking at the ducks in the grand canal and running thru the maze...The palace is under going a major renovation...so it was interesting to see how the palace looked like when it was first built...
Remember you should love to walk...
I will upload the pictures when I get back to Paris...
I am currently in a public library in Luxembourg City, using the free, but very slow internet...
I have to say this is all too surreal/unreal/dreamlike for me...
For those of you who do not know the pesons named, I apologize...Mandy is my cousin, Rodolphe her husband, and Cyrus their son...
toodles...
I am getting better at the french keyboard...
M



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

C +M AT THE PARK IN FRONT OF THE INVALIDES
Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

GARDENS OF LUXEMBOURG
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

GARDENS OF LUXEMBOURG-C ON A PONEY
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

GARDENS OF LUXEMBOURG-L'ACTEUR GREC
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

GARDENS OF LUXEMBOURG-THE MEDICI FOUNTAIN
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

NOTRE DAME DE PARIS
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

THE PALACE OF VERSAILLE
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

THE PALACE OF VERSAILLE-OLD AND NEW


Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0168s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb