Paris: the last day


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 19th 2009
Published: June 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everybody!
As I write this I am in Brussels, but there are a few things that I did yesterday that were interesting. I went to the Eiffel Tower at 11pm and say the light show. I took a video of it, but the photo is good, too. Also I went to the Cluny museum. In the Cluny museum they have the heads of the king statues from Notre-Dame. Apparently during the Revolution the revolutionaries cut of the heads of the statues because they represented royalty. A teacher that lived near by gathered up the heads and buried them in his back yard for safe keeping!? Wasn't that thoughtful! They were discovered in 1977 and put on display. The Cluny museum also has some interesting medival tapestries. The most famous being the lady and the Unicorn. It was woven in the middle ages. (I think the 1400s) The colors are still very vivid.
After that I walked to the Luxembourg palace and had lunch in the gardens. They are very beautiful.
And then at night I went to the Eiffel tower to see the lights.
Costs for Paris 5 days:
Bus ticket from London to Paris: 18 pounds (~$25)
Hostels for 5 days: $111.25
Cash: 150 Euro (~$200)
-this paid for my 48 euro museum pass, 15 metro rides, postcards, and food for 5 days. Food is very expensive in Paris I was living on cheese, crackers and sandwiches and it still cost about 20 dollars a day.
Total $336
I am hoping to keep my daily expenses (not including between city travel) to 50 dollars a day. This comes to about $66 a day, but hopefully I can make that up by spending less in Belgium.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Renaissance churchRenaissance church
Renaissance church

I am not sure if this church has a name, my guide book called it 'one of the few Renaissance churches in Paris'
Hostel Hallway ParisHostel Hallway Paris
Hostel Hallway Paris

This was taken in the St. Christopher's hostel in Paris. It was a great place to stay. Very clean and secure. Mine was the 'le musee Rodin'


21st June 2009

HI JEN, IAM COPYING YOUR BLOG AND KEEPING A SCRAPBOOK FOR YOU. SOUNDS AND LOOKS LIKE A GREAT TIME SO FAR. STAY SAFE AND ENJOY, LOVE YOU
23rd June 2009

eiffel lights
you can put videos on this website too. so can we see the Eiffel tower light show? My favorite is 'yummy pastry'. Will it fit in your backpack? How will it ever make it home for me?

Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb