Paris, the true romantic city


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
January 14th 2009
Published: January 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's still a clear memory of me of how excited I was while I was on a plane of Air France looking down out of a window and saw golden lights of Paris far away below. 'Is this called Paris?', I thought. I was going to land down on another continent for the first time of my life!

After wishing for it for a long time, it came true. I travelled. Alone. I chose France. I met a nice and friendly Vietnamese girl who tried to communicate with me. She speaks Dautch and just a few word in English but one thing I must say is we were really fun with our conversation that way. I arrived Paris around 6 am. This is the first time these words come to my ears 'bonjour, au revoir, merci, execuse moi'. No Thai or Chinese languages as I usually heard. An experience taught me that I shouldn't say 'Do you speak English?' to a baker in a bakery shop especially in a narrow street close to Seine River. The answer I got was her conversations with her friends in the shop said something in French like she mocked at me. The second time,
Ops!! Wrong train !Ops!! Wrong train !Ops!! Wrong train !

Got off the first train and found nobody else... different from where I came from
in a Chinese Restaurant ran by a Chinese spouse, she did like I was wrong to buy her foods. One thing I noticed, one of them is a mixed between Asian and Europe and another of them is Asian who relied on the land of French which might mean they were not successful from wherever their were originally from. You know, I believe what we do can tell our future 😊

It took 1 hour and a half for me trying to find the way to the train station in Charles de Gaulle Airport, being examined my passport and visa, picking up my backpacks, buying a telephone card from an automatic machine, called back to my mum.

From the airport to my hotel, in Latin area, I spent 1 hour (2 times for changing the train). I met a teenage coloured skin girl so I asked her about direction. She hold my map on her hands and watched & watched & watched .. nothing said from her lips .. until her boyfriend came and he threaten me a bit and acted rudely so I hurrily grap the map back and hurry to walk away from them. I girl
No destinationNo destinationNo destination

I moseyed through the way.
shouted his name so that he stopped. I don't have any problem to coloured skin people. I met one woman who helped me know where to buy a metro ticket. She was polite and kind.

French morning and Thailand morning are much different. In Thailand, some people woke up at 4 am. to do a commercial. You can see people bustling on street or in a fresh market since the time but in Paris it was not at all or probably it was because I went there in a winter. Finally, I managed to check in at my hotel around 9 am. but I couldn't get in my room until 12:00 am.

It was the best time to discover Paris morning!! No doubt.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Nice place to liveNice place to live
Nice place to live

Familiar Hotel. It's cheap and safe and easy to walk to an internet cafe.
Rue ecoleRue ecole
Rue ecole

I like the buildings in Paris.
such a silent morningsuch a silent morning
such a silent morning

It was Christmas day when I arrived.
a college nearbya college nearby
a college nearby

just 10 minutes of walking from my hotel
cute scootercute scooter
cute scooter

I found Honda and Yamaha scooter and BMW for a large moterbicycle.
classic styleclassic style
classic style

First taxi in Paris I met was Mercedez Benz. In my country, Thailand, we use Toyota because it's much cheaper than Mercedez Benz. Importer added imported tax so the price is very high.
Postal mini vanPostal mini van
Postal mini van

In Thailand you'll see the white one or motorcycle.


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb