Snow days!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
January 12th 2009
Published: January 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yay!Yay!Yay!

This is the first hint of snow I saw, from my window.
I had dreamed of this day before ever arriving in France; snow in Paris. Of course when I told my friends here that I wanted to see Paris covered in snow they said "yeah, well, that hardly ever happens, it's been 6 years since it has, and it's not that great anyways because it all just turns to brown mush in a couple of hours." There's that French optimism for you. But Thursday night, it snowed and on Friday January 2nd, I got to wake up to a world of white. Of course it was all gone by about 2 in the afternoon, but the point is, it was there and that gave me hope. Cold, wet, not necessarily comfortable, but beautiful hope. And then the magic day arrived. Monday, January 5th, it snowed. It had snowed all night and it continued snowing all day long. Paris was covered in a good 6-8 inches of the stuff and I have never been so excited. Around 1 pm, when people start either getting out of class or waking up, my cell phone started buzzing with text messages; "it's snowing!" "Let's play!" "Where do you want to go?", and so Jessica Natalie and
Hall windowHall windowHall window

Too cold to go outside, I rushed around to all the windows on the floor and took pictures while still in my pj's.
I met up and decided to visit the Bois de Vincennes, on the far east side of Paris. We had heard it was a magical place, our friend Caroline was constantly raving about it, and today seemed like a pretty magical day with the snow falling in soft little flurries all around, so away we went. From where we were at St. Jaques we got to take the 6, which is probably the best metro in Paris as most of it is above ground, so we got to see the little parks and apartments all along the way, capped in glittering fresh snow.
And then we arrived at the Bois de Vincennes, after a transfer to the 1 at Nation, and it was magical! As we are a bunch of nerds, we put the camera on self-timer mode and took pictures of the three of us in the snow. It was the first time Jessica had ever been in the snow, and as Californians, the whole experience was exciting for everyone. We ran around, some snowballs were thrown, and a grand old time was had by all. Snow fell softly all day long, filtering through the trees and making the
Winter roof topsWinter roof topsWinter roof tops

The roof tops make me think of Mary Poppins, the snow makes me think she would be freezing.
ground sparkle. The clouds, the ground and the snow all melted together, softening the edges of everything and making the world feel close and cozy, without horizons, but not quite endless. It was beautiful and we tried to get the most out of it there in the woods. Overall, a wonderful, if very cold, day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Yay! Snow!Yay! Snow!
Yay! Snow!

When we saw snow on the ground and falling, cell phones lit up with "where are we going to play?!"
Eeeeeee!Eeeeeee!
Eeeeeee!

We're from California, where this doesn't happen.
JessJess
Jess

This was the first time she'd ever been in the snow.
Silly girlsSilly girls
Silly girls

camera timers are for kids!
Natalie sur son cheminNatalie sur son chemin
Natalie sur son chemin

just walkin' in her winter wonderland.
Narnia!Narnia!
Narnia!

almost justifies a fur coat. Almost.
I don't get it..I don't get it..
I don't get it..

the water was liquid in only this one area, and I really don't see how they can stand to swim in it!
EleganceElegance
Elegance

No need to use the black and white setting, the world did it for me!
Bonhomme de neigeBonhomme de neige
Bonhomme de neige

We met a couple playing in the snow, they built him, il est manifique, non?
NanterreNanterre
Nanterre

Snow makes even this university pretty.
More NanterreMore Nanterre
More Nanterre

I felt like a dork pulling my camera out at school, but whatever.
Fountain at ChateletFountain at Chatelet
Fountain at Chatelet

It's just that cold.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb