The french like wine


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
January 16th 2006
Published: January 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

First PicFirst PicFirst Pic

This was my first picture of the trip. I was just excited to be there and took a picture of a random building.
Paris has been great! I got here at 11am yesterday and walked around (with my huge backpack) for 5 hours until Bret came in. My shoulders hate me. So to ease the pain Bret and I figured we go to a local bar and have a drink. Well we met three french guys who quickly became friends. They knew very little english but some italian. So, with our spanish we could kinda communicate. We sat and watched a soccer (i'm sorry... football) match. It was the bartenders home team. Thank God they won b/c I think he would have closed the pub had they lost. It was fun to watch since they were so into it. After that they taught us a very complicated dice game (especially since we couldnt really talk to each other). No money involved just drinking. So, needless to say. We had a good time. Today, we walked all around Paris again. It is a beautiful place. The people I have experienced are all very friendly. Which is somewhat surprising from what I have heard from other travelers. People have sat there and talked to me for a while in French. I just smile and nod and
Eiffel Tower #5Eiffel Tower #5Eiffel Tower #5

I can't believe that some of the French wanted to tear this tower down after the World's Fair.
try to talk with the very little French I know. They are amused and then start talking english. Most of the people here know english. Well my time is up on the computer. So, I must go. We are on to Bruges tomorrow. I cant put pictures up on this computer. But I will as soon as possible. Ourvouy! (no idea how to spell it?!?)


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Our hostelOur hostel
Our hostel

This is where we slept and talked to Markus, our German friend. Pretty cozy.


19th January 2006

Enjoy your trip
Hi Lee, I've always wanted to go to Bruges. Hope you and Bret are having a great time - it sounds like it. Tom and I will have fun tracking your trip. Take care, Kathy

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb