Arrival in Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 18th 2008
Published: September 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Salut!

It still hasn't quite hit me that I get to enjoy and explore living abroad for a year yet. I feel as though that entire time could be spent discovering Paris alone. The neighborhood I am living in is in the 14th arrondissement on rue Didot. It is a smaller, artistic area near Montparnasse. After taking the metro by ourselves for the first time last night up to the foyer where the other students are staying, which is right by Notre Dame, I realized I was glad to live outside of the main part of Paris. We found it was more expensive and encountered a lot more Americans 😊

Adjusting was difficult at first after being awake for more than 30 hours and listening to the entire introduction to the apartment in french and signing my name under words I couldn't read! There is such a noticeable difference between our guide/second mom, Marie Claire, who speaks slowly to us and all the other french students that are living in our building who parler trop vite! My room is small, located on the 4th floor, which is really the 5th in France. I have the perfect view of a park across the street and numerous buildings each with different architecture.

Now, after being here for three days, speaking is starting to come easier and I feel more comfortable. The metro is really easy to understand and we have an unlimited year long pass! Going out last night we saw the Seine for the first time and all the boat cruises. While walking around we saw Latin dancing on the river, a fashion shoot in front of Notre Dame, and stood in the exact middle of Paris. At this spot it says that anyone who visits this compass will return again to Paris someday; I don't see how I couldn't!

Besides blowing out an electrical outlet already and forgetting that Je suis excite´actually means (I am sexually excited) things have been great so far! I can't wait to go out and see more!

www.mytb.org/Kaitlin-Bailey
Nickname is Kaitlin.bailey
Love you all!
Au revoir!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

My bedMy bed
My bed

sleeping bag only temporary


18th September 2008

Bienvenue
I can't wait for the next installment! This will be so much fun following you around on your adventures.
18th September 2008

OUI OUI
Bonjour! I love your pictures and your post! I'm really glad that we can all keep up on your adventures. I miss ya but I'm glad you're just at the beginning of such a great experience : ) Ps- If I could, I would be writing this post to you in French (but I can't).
19th September 2008

Bonjour
Your maman gets up at 4:00 with me to see if she has any new email. This is great, Kaitlin!
19th September 2008

living a dream!
So, while working I will follow the adventures of my niece....enjoy!
20th September 2008

See?
Three days and you were already feeling comfortable. You are going to OWN PARIS. But please give a little bit to me. ;) Miss you, and looking forward to hearing about your adventures!

Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb