Day 2 Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 24th 2008
Published: August 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour
(23/8)
Decided a run was in order first up so off we went. Our 40 minute run turned into 1 ½ hours cause we got lost! Was a lot of fun, was dive bombed by a pigeon, R was bailed up by and British Bull Dog, I was nearly run over twice trying to cross the road once by a bicycle and once by a car. The old look left/right/left doesn’t work here, it’s right/left/right and then get me from the left every time….never had so much fun crossing the road! As all this was going n some of the locals thought it was hilarious of course which just made it funnier!

Had brekkie, showered and off to find another bus to take in the sights. Walked down to Bastille, we are staying in the 11th district for those of you who know Paris. Bus found we have spent most of the day with our mouths open gobsmacked. The Notre Dame, Eiffel Tower, Champs-Elysees, the Louve and Arc de Triomphe were the highlights for me. The buildings here are awesome and the history I find interesting too. We jumped off one of the buses in the Opera district and had lunch. Decided didn’t really need a cappuccino @ 6.50E ($10.50) each…I had wine instead…way cheaper!

Oh and I noticed this morning on our run that petrol here is the same in Euro as it is in AUD…won’t whinge about fuel prices at home again!

R and I have taken on separate roles she’s map girl and the minister for finance and is in charge of her new boyfriend Kojo (calculator) working out “what’s that in Aussie dollars”…she likes to know and I couldn’t give a toss. I’m the minister for Accom and the Entertainment Director oh and the man spotter although she has been known to join in.

So to the things I’ve noticed that are different. The few comments about me noticing the men rather than the dogs has been duly noticed and my attention has diverted to men rather than dogs, however I must add that dogs are still around in stores, cafes and hotels, etc! Now the men…my god they are different to Aussie men (sorry guys) they have got it goin on…the way they dress…the way they walk…talk…that accent…!!! And we’ve found them friendly…not at all aloof and unfriendly. They look pretty serious but we’ve found a smile works wonders especially when one is about to run over you on a bicycle!

Anyway its time to hit the town…a Saturday night in Paris…who would have thought!!!

Thanks for leaving comments for those that have we love hearing from you.
xo


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb