In Paris they speak French


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 22nd 2008
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

a canala canala canal

my hostel is down the far end - nice for enjoying a glass of blanc outside
My French so far only extends to ordering drinks, which i guess is the essentials. On my first night I met a french guy who showed me around town. We gawked at the Moulin Rouge and ventured into a few suspect establishments. The movie La Haine comes to mind. Much fun and a super sized hangover was had by all. My hostel is pretty sweet, has a cool bar, serves nice french food. My room sleeps 10 - I was lucky to be the last home on my first night so I got to sleep easily, but last night was interesting indeed. I think tonight I will have to hunt out my earplugs.

On my first day I went for a wander along the canal and found a weird hiphop bar beside the water. My french attempt at 'do you speak english?' was greeted with a response of 'only with girls' - ha. The joker then suggested i give it a shot in french. Hmm. I did manage to get a glass of wine, but i think it was more out of pity and my butchering of his native tounge.

Paris is very beautiful.

Today is rainy -
Big shiney thing for messing with magpiesBig shiney thing for messing with magpiesBig shiney thing for messing with magpies

outside the technology museum
so an inside day is on the cards. Tomorrow I will catch the metro into town and have a look at the touristy stuff.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

old stuffold stuff
old stuff

beside an industrial lookin canal


Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb