"I am a sophisticated woman of the world! "


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
May 20th 2008
Published: May 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

My Hotel!My Hotel!My Hotel!

I found it by myself!
Here are reasons I am independent and awesome:

1 - I booked a hotel on my own and it was not terrible or over-expensive
2 - I FOUND my hotel from General de Gaulle despite a train ride and two Metro changes.
3 - I hung out at the Eiffel Tower alone and didn't care.
4 - I slept alone in a strange city without a real way to contact anyone to save me.
5 - One of my goals was met - I was so awesome at Metro-ticket-getting a Spanish tourist mistook me for a local! And had me help him buy a ticket in a painful jumble of English, mediocre Spanish and terrible French. I have decided if I can do the subway thing in another language with relative ease I officially am an experienced user of public transportation.

My 24 hours of aloneness were amazing...though not entirely alone. I met Noah on my solitary walk along the Seine. In Paris of all places. He's here with his family for two weeks. So we wandered all of the city around the Tower and Invalides and the Champs-Elysees. We really saw it all. And had a lovely dinner.
Hotel BathroomHotel BathroomHotel Bathroom

I don't know.
It was so fun to pal around with my old friend in this crazy city and I still got to feel independent.

After dinner I went up to the Sacre Couer (I was staying in the Montmartre neighborhood again, so it was only a few blocks away) and saw the spectacular view of the city of lights laid before me. I have some amazing pictures of my sights and room that I am so proud of. I will post them to this entry next time when my camera is charged!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

View from my RoomView from my Room
View from my Room

That's through my window!
Under the Eiffel TowerUnder the Eiffel Tower
Under the Eiffel Tower

No one else would stand in the center of the underneath area. I kind of felt a food being the only with a lot of people standing along the perimeter. Oh well, stupid Americans.
Eiffel TowerEiffel Tower
Eiffel Tower

There it is.
The SeineThe Seine
The Seine

Noah had joined me at this point.
InvalidesInvalides
Invalides

The best part of Invalides was the great lawn in front of it. it reminded me of DC's Mall. There were people everywhere playing bocce ball, napping, practicing weird martial arts... We took a nap.
Paris by NightParis by Night
Paris by Night

This is the view from the rail of the Sacre Coeur. Took me forever to get the shot right.
Sacre Coeur1Sacre Coeur1
Sacre Coeur1

You can see how many people were on the steps of the church in this picture. Friends, lovers, bvands were everywhere. It was so much cooler than the Eiffel Tower and much more beautiful than I remembered from my first trip.
Sacre Coeur2Sacre Coeur2
Sacre Coeur2

This was just two blocks from my hotel.


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb