Fly away to somewhere new


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
March 23rd 2008
Published: March 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Place de la BastillePlace de la BastillePlace de la Bastille

near where we were staying...lots of good restaurants and creperies!
Our spring break was pretty exciting, although I didn’t necessarily feel rested when I got back. I did feel like I took advantage of a great opportunity to travel. I spent the break with my friend Michelle in two cities: 3 days in Paris and 4 in Barcelona.

We were pretty busy in Paris just because there are so many famous tourist sites and museums there. There’s a link below to our first day’s walk around town. Anyway, in the next two days, we visited the Louvre, the gardens at Versailles, the Pere Lachaise Cementery (where Oscar Wilde, and many many other famous historical and cultural figures are buried), the Luxembourg Gardens, and Sacre Cour. We walked at least 10 or 11 miles every day, and we also did a lot of standing in museums, lines, etc., so needless to say, our feet were pretty exhausted. We also got a little sick of baguette and cheese.

In Barcelona, we had somewhat more time to relax. We visited the Picasso Museum, the Cathedral, and a lot of Gaudí buildings (see next blog for awesome Barcelona pictures!), but we also made more time to slow down and enjoy the tapas and
Notre Dame GargoyleNotre Dame GargoyleNotre Dame Gargoyle

View from the tower of Notre Dame (and first of many shots of the Eiffel Tower...don't worry I won't post all of the pictures of it that I have)
cava (Catalonian sparkling wine). We got to run on the beach while there—it took a lot more energy than I remembered, but it was fun. Other highlights included finding dried strawberries and organic protein bars along our walks around town. Last but not least, we ate the best fast food falafel I’ve ever had! (They tasted homemade)

So, there’s no real way to compare these cities, but I can say that of the two, I would be more likely to return to visit Barcelona. The atmosphere, food, and obviously the language just fit me better there.

I’ve posted Paris pictures in this blog, and I’ll also post some from Barcelona in the next blog.

Happy Easter, everyone!

Meg



View Interactive Map on MapMyRun.com


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Gargoyle 2Gargoyle 2
Gargoyle 2

Mont Martre in the background
Bell tower at Notre DameBell tower at Notre Dame
Bell tower at Notre Dame

Quasimodo, unfortunately, was a little shy
Arc de TriomfArc de Triomf
Arc de Triomf

and Michelle didn't even have to get runover to take it!
Night Cruise on the SeineNight Cruise on the Seine
Night Cruise on the Seine

We stopped to watch the tower sparkle
Michelle and MeMichelle and Me
Michelle and Me

in front of one of the many (non-functioning) fountains at Versailles
Luxembourg GardensLuxembourg Gardens
Luxembourg Gardens

much more impressive than Versailles in February
This makes me think of...This makes me think of...
This makes me think of...

the last scene in the Great Race, which I would really like to watch when I get home


24th March 2008

what fun!
Hey Meg!!! Those pictures look like so much fun- what great places! wish I had been there, too! (Then maybe you would have liked Paris more.... :) ) And the pictures from Barcelona are awesome!!!!! Miss you!

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb