day of crises


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
January 24th 2008
Published: January 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I just took a HUGE risk with my computer by turning on iTunes, so hopefully it won't come crashing down for the 800th time in the last week. Luckily, I bought an extremely overpriced external hard drive this afternoon, onto which I loaded all of my music, video and word files, so if worse comes to worst, I am now a little more prepared.
Today was full of mishaps and minor crises. I woke up still feeling sick this morning, but made it to our info session class on Versailles. Our prof was late, so we started late, which means I got out late and had to try to race over to my class at Paris VII, which was at 2 pm. After my friend Celina and I got on the bus to Paris VII, we realized that the bus was going a different route than it had before, but we were really confused because we knew we had gotten on the wrong line. When I started tracing the route on the bus map, I could see that we were stopping at stops that were not on our bus line's route. I still don't know what happened, because we did arrive at Paris VII, but much later than we intended. We were late for our first class, and then we got lost in the building. Apparently, you can only access that room from a certain staircase in the huge building, which was not evident on any floor plan that was posted. We had to walk into class 15 minutes late on the first day. At least we managed to understand most of what was going on.
We hadn't eaten lunch, so we went to the student cafeteria to buy their really cheap meals. But we both accidentally bought sandwiches that were sort of disgusting. It wasn't a translation issue--we were just unaware of what the sandwiches had on them. I swear the French like to hide mayonnaise and eggs on everything. That kind of stuff should be posted more clearly. It was really sad but kind of funny. So we got to look like Fat Americans and buy ourselves more sandwiches.
The rest of the day went a bit better. And tomorrow we are going to Versailles!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb