Paris: City of Stairs


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 5th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello from my first post on the road. The computer I am at does not allow me to upload photos, so I will have to add those later. Paris was a beautiful city. Full of culture and history. I had only planned on staying 2 nights there but decided to stay an additional day. I am stopping at Paris again at the end of my trip and that is a good thing, because I didn't even go in the Lourve the first time.

I have heard Paris called the City of Lights in the past. Yeah lots of lights and everything is lit up like Disney World. I however have decided to rename Paris as the City of Stairs. I climbed stairs at Sacre Coure, Arc de Triumphe, the Eiffel Tower, and the metro stations. There was one metro station where I went down two flights of stairs, walked over a small hall way and then went up two flights. Makes no sense to me.

Also many of you have the misconception that Parisians (heck all French) are rude and don't like Americans. That isn't all true. Picture your city being invaded by millions of fanny pack and man purse wearing tourists. You too would get a little get a little grouchy, so I think it is safe to say, Parisians dislike the tourists, of all nationalities.

As for my first Hostel stay it turned out pretty good. There were 2 Sweedes, 2 Austrians, 1 Brazilian, 3 Canadians, and me. A good group and we got along very well. Another thing I learned about hostels is you begin to appreciate the FREE breakfast. When you hit the tourist traps food & drink can be quite expensive.

In Paris the way around that is to stop at a supermarket or a fruit stand, buy yourself a nice picnic lunch or dinner and go sit in one of their many beautiful parks. Just don't sit on the grass. That is only there to look at and the Grass Police will ensure you follow that rule.

Over all I enjoyed Paris more then I thought and I am glad I am going back to see the Lourve.

Advertisement



20th August 2007

Good to see you enjoyed it :) I wish i was a tourist in paris, i love so much this city (FYI i live in Paris) but seeing it for the first time is a great experience.

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb