Sorry again for the delay - again


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
January 10th 2007
Published: January 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sacre CoeurSacre CoeurSacre Coeur

The Sacre Coeur on top of Montmartre.
I'm still here, I tried to get on yesterday but I couldn't access the website.

Monday I went church-going: Sacre Coeur, Notre Dame, as well as Sainte Chapelle and the Concierge and the Pantheon. I saw more famous tombs in the Pantheon such as that of Voltaile, Louis Braille, Marie Curie, Victor Hugo and so on.

Tuesday I went to Versailles, which was interesting but the hall of mirrors wasn't nearly as amazing as the photos in the tour guide make it look. Somewhat of a let down there.

Today, since I've seen so much already, I went back to Notre Dame to do two things that were closed when I went Monday: the tower and the crypt below. The gargoyles at the top of the tower are pretty impressive. I then just walked around the city since I couldn't think of anything else I wanted to see really. I went to Jean-Paul Hevin, an extremely upscale chocolatier, and went upstairs to their Salon de The (I was the only one not formally dressed up there, amazed nobody gave me any looks or said anything for the way I was dressed). I had extremely expensive hot chocolate (€6,30,
Notre DameNotre DameNotre Dame

The Notre Dame Cathedral.
over $8) and a chocolate pastry (about $6). It's not something I can normally afford to do, but it was amazing to try once. I ate dinner at an Alsatian restaurant, which was also quite nice (especially seeing I ate fast food the last two days).

Two days ago I swallowed my pride and ate at a McDonalds, which was surprisingly clean (with managers in suits and leather chairs). The meal (a hamburger, 4 chicken mcnuggets, a large soda and large fries) cost €8,50 (over $10), which I suspect is far more than it would cost stateside. The food didn't look or taste any different though.

Some things about Paris:

Even in January, it is warm here: It usually hovers around 50 degrees. There's no bad time to visit here.

People are very reluctant to speak English, unlike in Rome. Here, only a few people have spoken English to me (not counting other English speaking tourists). They are, however, still polite.

Outside the Eiffel Tower, men sell flashing mini-Eiffel Towers, and advertise them by saying "Bling Bling", which I found really funny.

There are no fat people here. None. Maybe because the food's so
GargoylesGargoylesGargoyles

Gargoyles on top of the Notre Dame's tower.
damn expensive.

Hot dogs are interesting here: they cost more, but are formed with genuine French bread cut open and warmed. Very nice.

I witnessed a moped accident: A guy lost control and his moped slammed into a car door. He was uninjured.

Although gas is very expensive here (€1,33 a litre, I think that's around $7 a gallon), there are not nearly as many mopeds/bikes as in Rome. Don't know how people afford to drive.

I apologize for not having pictures (I assure you I'm still taking a ton), but I can't find a place to upload them. The hostel internet access has no access to the computer's slots itself, and an internet cafe I found said you can't upload camera pics. I promise when I get back to the states if I still haven't been able to upload new photos I'll upload a ton of them on to this blog so you can all view them.

Send me any questions and I'll answer them, but since internet is more expensive here than in Rome I'll only be on every 2 or 3 days instead of every day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Expensive ChocolateExpensive Chocolate
Expensive Chocolate

This is what you can get an upscale Parisian Chocolatier (Jean-Paul Hevin): hot chocolate and a pastry costing around $15 total.


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0909s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb