Louvre


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
February 18th 2005
Published: November 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I’ve got months and months of photos to get through and have decided to let the photos do most of the talking. If you have a specific question about a location drop me a line.

I made it to the Louvre and spent the full day (the museums late closing day) walking, looking, pondering and hoping that I’d get a chance to come back. Yes, I did see the Monna Lisa. While I was impressed there was so many more great works within a minutes walk of the painting that were going ignored I decided to spend my time with them. So many people were taking flash photos of the Monna I’d be surprised if any of the photos came out halfway clear - go buy a postcard!

Yes, the museum is immense. No one person can hope to ever see everything housed within its walls, just walk and stop when something catches your fancy.

PS: one of my pet peeves is people that walk around a museum with a video camera glued to their eye as they walk double time without pausing (panning back and forth hoping to capture a 0.5 second clip of each painting). Are
Early Bird Gets in LineEarly Bird Gets in LineEarly Bird Gets in Line

I was there the full day and while I may have walked the full museum I only saw a 1/10 of the items at best.
you ever going to watch that blurry low quality film of paintings that you could have paused and taken a look at with your own eyes? Get a clue leave the camera at home!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Louvre Chalice -- Dan BrownLouvre Chalice -- Dan Brown
Louvre Chalice -- Dan Brown

Required reading for backpackers.
Louvre at NightLouvre at Night
Louvre at Night

I was there for the opening and one of the last to leave that night. My feet were so sore and my mind was in a fog.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb