Sun King -- Versailles


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
February 22nd 2005
Published: November 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

All I can say is that the day I toured Versailles it was fridged with snow flurries. The gardens went on for miles and miles and despite all the walking I did I was still so so so cold.

The cost to build this palace x10 is unimaginable. You’d need to visit to appreciate the size and opulence. My photos do not scratch the surface.

If I was to say anything further, no matter how eloquent and elaborate it would still be an understatement and would not do the place justice. Use your imagination!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Hall of MirrorsHall of Mirrors
Hall of Mirrors

Nearly the full length was under construction and not accessible to the public.
Cold FountainCold Fountain
Cold Fountain

Bassin et parterre de Latone and the Grand Canal beyond
Bassin d'ApollonBassin d'Apollon
Bassin d'Apollon

No fountain displays during the winter.
Marie-AntoinetteMarie-Antoinette
Marie-Antoinette

Such a lovely neck it was.
Queen's HamletQueen's Hamlet
Queen's Hamlet

Were are my powdered sheep?


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb