A series of "unlucky" events


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris » Sarcelles
October 6th 2012
Published: October 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My trip to Paris day by day:

-Day 1 - Day before the trip throat start to misbehave

-Day 2 - Vacations start by mississing the first flight after that the domino effect started. Get to Chicago and of course I also missed the second flight. Overpaid (pretty mych bent over and took it) for a rental SUV to drive from Chicago to Detroit to then catch the final flight. Fianally in Detroit (after getting into the bad neighborhoods because the GPS wasnt propery programmed by me) went to return the car which should be a pretty simple thing to do right?? Aparently not in Detroit. Wasted 45 minutes in line. Finally got to the ticket desk and after bending over for a second time was able to get on the plane. By that time my throat was on fire.

-Day 3 - Finally!! France!! Well hold your horses, the luggage did not arrive and guess what?? My throat medicine is in it!! Anyway no big deal right, just report it and get the train correct?? Wrong again, public transportation that week was on STRIKE!!! After bending over for a third time, this time to the taxi driver
Veiled LadyVeiled LadyVeiled Lady

One of the most impressive sculptures I've seen. Italian Sculptures Ile, Louvre Museum
I finally get to see Paris. It was a beautiful evening but a bit cold and of course the thick jackets were also back in Chicago with the luggage. No big deal, thats what money is for and stores are plenty. Unfortunately we were in the touristic areas where all things like jackets and gloves are a bit cheap, trashy and all in all kind of a joke. No protection against the cold and freezing rain. By this time my throat must have felt as if I had drank acid.

-Day 4 - Rain continues but who cares. Im on vacs!! trains start moving FREE OF CHARGE but unreliable. Took the train to the Eiffel Tower and after making a line under the freezing rain was able to go up... Back to the train station and get back to the hotel!! Well, train got suspended so decided to walk back to the hotel, again under the rain, cold and sick!! The trip back was one very long, cold and wet one. As expected my GF also got the flu I had been battling since the begining.

-Day 5 - I believe it was a Monday or a Tuesday.
Veiled Lady Close UpVeiled Lady Close UpVeiled Lady Close Up

Impressive piece of art. My favorite.
Either way, fortunately was the day Paris close all the museums for cleaning and maintenance I suppose. Good thing because the fever we had was boiling our blood and we crashed until 1:00 in the afternoon. I needed the rest but again, Im on vacations and theres nothing that can stop me. We went out and decided to walk to the Louvre but it was closed so it was still early in the day so we decided to walk to the Pompidou. After a long walk that is when I noticed the museum was closed, we later found out it was because of the Monday/Tuesday thing i mentioned. Went back to the hotel and finally the luggage was in the lobby waiting for us. Finally our throats got the needed drugs and stayed under control for the reminder of the vacations.

-Day 6 - Day 7 - Day - 9 - My GF's dad got sick and we received a phone call in the middle of the night notifying her about the situation. It got us by surprise, he was stable and the trip was almost over so we decided to stay. Went to the normal places, more museums,
Subliminal Part 1-FRONT VIEW-Subliminal Part 1-FRONT VIEW-Subliminal Part 1-FRONT VIEW-

Nothing out of the ordinary from the front (maybe a little).
champs elysees, Notre Damme, etc. etc. Trains are more reliable now so decided to take the oportunity to see Versaille Palace & Gardens which had always been a dream of mine. Ill figure out how to come back if it comes to that.

-Day 10 - Back to the airport where the flight got delayed because a "crew member" was on strike. We later found out the "crew member" was the PILOT!!! And the airline was waiting for a replacement pilot to arrive. As expected my connection got delayed but waited for the flight arriving from France. Not even a minute had passed since we boarded the plane and I noticed I was not seeing properly. Yup... sure enough!!! migraine time!! Oh I forgot!! I mentioned earlier that nothing stops me right?? Well let me correct that statement by saying, migraines are the one thing that I have learned that shuts me down. So for the next 3 long hours I was sitting on a very uncomfortable sit, with my splitting headache going to the bathroom every 5 minutes or so to "take care" of the migraine. Very long 10 hour flight.

Well. That marks the end of
Subliminal Part 2-SIDE VIEW-Subliminal Part 2-SIDE VIEW-Subliminal Part 2-SIDE VIEW-

Now, do you see what's going on??
my adventure in the City Of Light!!

Thank you for wasting 10 minutes of your life reading it. You will never get them back!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb