la nourriture interessante


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Franche-Comté » Besançon
October 12th 2006
Published: October 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I would be remiss if I didn't quickly take the time to properly recount the interesting food I have had the misfortune to encounter over the last 48 hours. For lunch tuesday, I went to Resto U with my friend Julia (from Kansas). She got something resembling chicken from the poultry line. It looked okay, but in the process of eating it she dicovered at least 2 hairs of notable length and thickness. Yum. I, being the brave soul I am, went to the <> line for the first time. my french was good enough to avoid the cow tongue, but I think I ended up eating some bizzare mélange of beef that was masquerading as salsbury steak. It could have been worse - and that evening it was.

When I got to Mimi's apartment, she was making a fuss over a suicide she had read about in the paper. The guy was 25 years old and it was a real shame, but at the same time I was kind of excited to be able to understand what she was talking about. After showing me the paper, she asked me if it was okay to cook something in the microwave for dinner beacuse it was easier and she needed to buy some groceries so it was all she had. I said that it was fine, because in france you always have to be polite. In passing, I caught the name of what was inside - les tripes. Now better judgement would have kept me from running to my français-anglais dictionaire to discover my impending doom, but unfortunately that judgement was with someone else at that point in time. I quickly found the word, and my jaw hit the floor. Guts!

As the dictionary promised, Mimi was serving microwable intestines of some animal of which I am not sure. To see the texture of les tripes was traumatizing enough. Then I tasted them. But again, on doit être polit en France, so I kept eating. It would not have been so bad though, had it not been for the smell. I walk by a equestian park in the middle of town each day and night whem going to and returning from class. The walls are very high, and I have only seen the inside of it on TV, so I wouldn't know that there were really horses there except for the smell of their incessant shitting. Fast forward to the tripes... they smelled exactly like the horseshit. Then it occured to me why - these are guts. This is the path that shit takes before it escapes through the anus! How I kept from vomitting I will never know.

Although it pales in comparison, I also ate ricecakes last night called crevettes that looked, felt, and tasted like styrofoam. So any of you Americans reading this, if you can send a package of ramen noodles to me at c/o Knox College, 10 avenue Fontaine Argent, 25000 Besançon, FRANCE, I would forever be endebted to you. Thanks. Bye!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb