Weekend!!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Franche-Comté » Besançon
September 5th 2009
Published: September 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

CIMG0227CIMG0227CIMG0227

This is our view from right outside the CLA. :)
Bonjour a tous!!!

I hope everyone is having a good weekend so far! I miss everyone so much. I'm enjoying a lovely Saturday of nothing. It's nice after the crazy week I just had! These past couple days have been great but very difficult as well. We have a very active pair of professors working with us who challenge us everyday. Since the 16 of us have different levels of speaking, we were divided in two groups to work more in depth. There is a group of 7 and a group of 9. I am in the group of 7...but I must say there are time I wish i was in the other group!!!!! The other group gets to talk about apartments, people, and build their vocabulary. Our group had to have a mock trial about theft, a debate, and we start presentations next week. I feel like I'm in college all over again! Though I feel a little intimidated, I know this is good for me.

Yesterday's activities made me take a step back and realize what an honor it is to be here. This experience is so unbelievably humbling. It took my a while to realize it,
Centre VilleCentre VilleCentre Ville

I absolutely love these buildings. This is in the center of town. Loaded with little shops and cafe's! :)
but after having a reception with the entire Department of Education last night, it became clear that they view education as if it's the greatest thing on Earth. Of course I'm a bit biased...but you won't believe how they treated us. The 16 of us here, represent the United States teachers, and because of that, we are treated like gold. Everything is paid for...bus passes...museums...all meals...living arangements....health insurance...you name it, it's paid for. AND we get paid on top of it. It's really too good to be true! I guess stepping in the dog poop really does mean good luck will come your way! ( Thank you Madame V!!)
Maybe I should find some more! haha YUCK

ANYWAYS..... so last night after the reception we all went out to dinner. I called my host mom earlier in the day and asked her if she would mind me staying out late. She's so laid back it's great. We all went to this place called 1802...BEST MEAL EVER. I had the most delicious scallops and rice and vegetable puree thing. The only thing that was a little bizzare was the craw fish that was killed soley for decoration and to freak
CIMG0238CIMG0238CIMG0238

I had to take a picture...haha
me out. I felt bad...it had sad eyes but it stared at me the entire duration of my meal. I had to cover it. 😞 OH and how can I forget?! Jackie, Teri, Carolyn, Zack, and me all had a "pichet" of wine! We didn't think it would be a lot at all....wrong!!!! Having 3 full glasses before the meal probably wasn't the best idea!!!! After dinner we walked around the festival and took our busses home. The bus schedule is a bit tricky because the route changes at night. Wasn't bad...only one creeper on the bus! I came back around midnight and since it was so late, I just went to my room through my entrance and went to bed!

My language is improving tremendously! However, when playing "interviewer" in class, I meant to say I work for Le Figero (French Magazine). Instead I said I work for Le Frigo. That means refrigerator! lol At least I haven't said anything inappropriate without knowing!!!! Steve on the other hand tried to ask his host mom if she needed help with setting the table....She looked up, snapped NO!!!, and rushed out of the room. He later found out that he
CIMG0244CIMG0244CIMG0244

A little crooked...but a great view of the full moon. :)
asked her if she needed mental help. In other words...he basically told her she was crazy. haha Poor guy!

Well thats all for now! I have a busy day tomorrow (Sunday) and a lot of work to do for next week. I'll try to update soon!

Bisous!

Alana

ps. Gramma- "Bonsoir a tous" means good evening to all! "Bisous" means kisses!

Advertisement



5th September 2009

fun evening
Oh alana how I love your blogs! I feel like i'm right there with you. I'm so amazed how you really take in all aspects of what france has to offer,this experience is going to make you a wonderful teacher. The fish looking at you with sad eyes hahaha only you. Poor Steven, so glad no major slips for you! Every one should treat education in high esteem, after all who teaches our doctors,dentists,nurses,engineers,mechanicsetc.? so glad to hear how honorable of a profession they feel it is.Hope you have a good day with your host family I LOVE YOU xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox Oh and love the pictures!!!!!!!!!!
5th September 2009

good time
Alana, make the most of this wonderful opportunity you are experiencing. I am so happy for you. I enjoy your blogs so much and the pictures make me feel like I am there with you. Poor Steve!!! I hope his host mom realizes it was a mistake and he is learning!!! I probably would have said something worse!!! Your tummy must have been quite full with 3 glasses of wine and your dinner. Hope you were able to walk a lot of it off. Hope you have a relaxed week end and remember I love you always. "BISOUS" AND HUGS!!
6th September 2009

Weekend
Hi, honey- Totally enjoy reading about your experiences. We know you are smart enough to grasp and remember all the wonderful things you are exposed to. Good to know you have a good "second home" LUV YA!!!!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb