Scruffy Budapest - Welcome to Paprikaland


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Pest
September 13th 2012
Published: February 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Originally, Hungary was not part of the plan. We’re suppose to just go straight from Prague to Vienna. But then my hubby “challenged” me to realize my wish list of writing my own travel book. Well, in order to do that, I need another Eastern Europe countries on my repertoire. So, challenge accepted! It was exactly 10 days before we left for Europe, and I thought I’m going mad. I’m not really someone who likes changing plans especially last minute.

I threw the idea to M just to see how he feels about it. Especially because we already bought our discounted bus ticket to Vienna . I was ready to hear him saying I’m out of my mind. But surprisingly he was very supportive about it . Yayyy! And that last minute addition apparently works well, because as pretty as Prague was, I don’t know what else to do if I had a third day. Well, perhaps I would’ve went to Slovakia for a day trip.

Anyway, because Budapest was originally not part of the plan – I’m having difficulties fitting it in the itinerary. The only way to do it, is to take
Night Train to BudapestNight Train to BudapestNight Train to Budapest

Don't be fooled by my smile - I actually cringed
a night train from Prague to Budapest. I’m very nervous about it though. I took night train back in Indonesia waaaay back when I’m still a kid when I’m visiting my grandma. But I forgot about it already. I don’t know what to expect of taking a night train in Eastern Europe. If their metro looks that fragile, I can’t imagine their night train. I’m so glad I’m not alone. Otherwise I wouldn’t have the courage to do so.

Initially we were having difficulties finding our sleeping berth. Apparently it’s another car that hasn’t arrived yet. Luckily there’s only the two of us in our compartment, leaving another two beds empty. There’s also a place where you can hang your coats and even have a small mirror. They already provide some bed sheets, a small pillow and a thin blanket. For safety you can lock your compartment from inside and even have a small curtain for privacy. I still cringe though. I’m definitely not going to the bathroom.

As night passed by, I still can’t sleep. I know M already fell asleep as I recognize he already breathe differently. I’m still down for what happened in Prague. And to make it worse, apparently it’s very chilly on night trail. I can sense the temperature dropped, and dropped, and dropped…. Gah, why did I put my sweater so deep inside my rucksack! It’s dark and I just don’t want to disturb M’s sleeping. So I ended up crying in my bed and just hope this will just end soon. That night I didn’t get a good night sleep at all. I’m falling in and out consciousness. And before I knew it, it’s one hour before arrival already. I took a peak outside the window and it’s very…. rustic. Welcome to Eastern Europe, baby.

Over the years, I tend to have good luck with vacations. I would at least get some blue sky in almost every country that I’ve visited. But unfortunately, my luck rubs off in Hungary. It’s cloudy and rainy. It doesn’t help either when my B&B host said “Owh, you should’ve come yesterday – it was blue sky the whole week”. Gah. Plus btw, she didn’t let me use her bathroom although I have paid for my room in her property.

I had one of the best breakfast though. Bought some potato puff pastry at “Princess” and it was heavenly. And it’s so cheap!! Coming from Scandinavia, it’s definitely a relief from a budget standpoint. First stop, Parliament Building. After that we did the Leopold and City Walk from Rick Steves guide. Budapest is rather small compared to Stockholm though. Just walking for few minutes, we’ve passed several famous brass statues, St Itsvan, Fashion Street and the historical McD. Why historical? Well it was the first McD opened in Eastern Europe. It’s a symbol of western expansion in ex communist country. Had a little bit of fun with a “Moses fountain” – where the water going up and down if you wave your hand. Overall the city is kinda pretty, but it looks scruffy. Looks dirty. As if it needs a good scrubs all around. But it is more modern than I thought. So many international brands, especially at Fashion Street. They even have a Hard Rock café.

We took the tram to cross the bridge and….. the unimaginable happened. My camera stopped working! The shutter button seemed to be jammed. I felt immediate guilt. Was it because I still take pictures in the rain? It only drizzled though. I thought Canon 7D is
Paprikaland!!!Paprikaland!!!Paprikaland!!!

borrowed M's camera cause mine was broken :(
a semi pro with weather sealed body? Hiks hiks. I try to console myself, at least it’s almost towards the end of the journey. Plus, I still carry my pocket camera as back up. Never thought I would have to use it though.

M was kind enough to let me use his camera while we visited the famous Great Market Hall for lunch. But it’s not the same, no? Besides, I just don’t like the idea of using someone else’s picture in my album or blog. It feels so disrespectful. My brain started to calculate how much would it take to fix my camera. Gah, must be damn expensive.

I try to focus on the market itself. Coming from South East Asia, I’ve seen similar covered market – especially in Vietnam. On the ground level, there are lots of paprikas and sausages. On the upper level, there are many food stalls you can have lunch at. Unfortunately, I’m having very difficult time finding some vegetarian option so I ended up eating a very chubby crepes . I’m tempted to eat Goulash which is traditional food there but then meat is not halal. Well, seeing how runny and watery it is – I’m not that tempted anymore, either.

We took a little bit of break back at our separate accommodations. I got lost on my back to my BnB, in day light, ha ha…. Luckily an old guy helped me. I’m so blonde with maps. After that I told M, next time pls walk me back home. He laughed with me when I told him I got lost. Hey, he just told me drop off after one station – he didn’t say left or right ha ha…

We went up to the Buda Hill at night. This time, finally managed to find the right bus. There was a wine festival but you have to pay to get in. So we just went to Fisherman’s Bastion. The view from there was amazing. But… I just missed my SLR camera so bad. I try to take picture with my pocket camera but it’s just not the same. Even if I try not to breathe or to put the camera on the wall or something just to make it steady, it’s still came out bad. Hhh….

After a McD dinner break, we went down to take picture of the Buda Castle and the bridge from the other side. It’s getting late and we have a morning train to catch. I can sense M is getting worried in case the tram and metro stopped their service so I try to calm him down. We finally got closer to the river and took some pictures there. It felt like we jump into a time machine or something. Him with SLR and me with my pocket. I don’t need much time to take pictures because almost every shot is challenging. I finished early and wait patiently. Just like in the old days. Gah, I really really really miss my camera.

Well, at least Budapest is pretty at night? I think I saw that Buda Castle featured in Katy Perry’s “Fireworks” video. What else interest me about Budapest? Owh, their tram is yellow – not red like in most places. And it’s one of few places in Europe where there are actually people who checked your ticket before going to metro. No one checks in tram though.

The night ends with M accompanying me to my B&B so I won’t get lost again. We part ways as he stayed in hostel couple of blocks away. I almost couldn’t get into my room though because the magnet card didn’t work. I tried 6 times before the damn door finally opened. It was scary. The owner stayed elsewhere and the only way to reach her is by using your own phone .

But, with all accommodation issue and bad weather aside – I’m still glad we stopover at Hungary. I do think I could use another day in Budapest. Still haven’t seen the rest of the key sites. And M, if you’re reading this – thanks for being supportive despite of the last minute changes. Well, nothing is better than spending quality time with your ring one. I really appreciate it. Hugs.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 29; qc: 116; dbt: 0.1064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb