Loches. Camping La Citadelle.


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Loches
September 1st 2012
Published: September 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Great start to the day. As I walked across the campsite to get the baguette from reception I startled a green woodpecker. Always a treat to see.

Another cross-country day, this time entirely all under my non-digital direction with the aid of the French road atlas. Have discovered to my horror that I need a magnifying glass to read road numbers on the atlas. Not as a result of my recent bleeding eye but just a change in my near sight through ‘age’. Will have to get some proper reading glasses in future I think when my bleeding eye has settled down anyway.

For now I will manage and I did today. My ‘eye’ did not stop me spotting four young deer in a forest as we drove past, another magic moment.

We drove down to the Loir and Loire valleys and along in some places. One stretch we had not seen before and this area is always a pleasure to see. We crossed the Loir at Montoire-sur-Loir and make a note here to return there some time, it looked well worth a visit but not today, on a busy Saturday market day ! We love the white buildings, faded shutters and immaculate presentation of this area emphasised by the gloriously luxuriant floral displays.

We stopped for a moment to admire the Chateau de Montpoupon which is wonderfully located down a sweep of road so it just appears out of the fields. We were as impressed this time as we were when we passed it once before.

Our destination was the lovely medieval town of Loches and Camping La Citadelle. A wonderful campsite within sight of the chateau / citadelle which are perched on high above the town and floodlit at night. We found a pitch with a lovely view across to the town, put the awning and the loungers out and sat in the sun. Not quite as sunny all the time as we would like but getting there and warm enough for a quick swim later.

After dinner we walked along into the town for a drink in the centre. It’s always nice to be able to do this as many campsites are off the beaten track.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



2nd September 2012

quickly
Thanks for explanatory answering emails Joy,(several!) and for all blogging. Weather has bucked up a bit here and the sun shines sometimes; very much an autumnal feel to it now. Anyway Matthew and I managed a good circular coastal walk yesterday which, though marked moderate, tested me(mightily) on the long hauls uphill. Am trying to get back to whatever condition I was in before the months of back problems struck, may take some time Friends from Holmes hapel calling in this morning en route to Falmouth and I've booked lunch at a favourite place of mine which is just a little detour off their route. Making a few biscuits and running little Dyson round next. Lots love R & B

Tot: 0.354s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 32; qc: 145; dbt: 0.237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb