The Big Magnificent Wedding!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Burgundy » Sens
April 9th 2012
Published: April 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Chateau des CondeChateau des CondeChateau des Conde

My room in the Chateau at night!
Where do I even begin? It's 2:45am and Aurelie's wedding was a 2 day event. We started off on Saturday, April 7 with a Chinese tradition of the fiancee coming over to the house and paying red envelopes to get to his future wife, in this case Aurelie! Richard and his friends paved their way and made their dues, paying envelope after envelope to get to Aurelie. When he reached his bride, they did their prayers and headed over to Richard's house where we would have lunch. When it came time to 4pm, we then made our way to the city hall where they officially became man and wife. It was a bit different than most American weddings, as it seems this was the most important day vs. our usual wedding ceremony. As soon as that was over, we headed over to Chateau des Conde in Vallery. There, we had drinks and dinner and relaxed a bit before the big ceremony on Sunday.

Sunday: Tea ceremony and American wedding Ceremony. It was absolutely lovely and magnificant. I can't even describe how beautiful the ceremony was as well as the setting. The castle looked lovely and it was everything I pictured a French countryside wedding to be and then some! I am so so glad I came to see my cousin married off. She looked absolutely lovely and the food....omg...the food! From a cocktail party filled with unlimited drinks, foie gras, tuna tartare, etc. to veal entrees, chocolate fondue, macarons, and anything you can ever think of. It seriously had to be one of the best and most extravagant weddings I've ever been to. The American ceremony was a bit different than most as they tend to incorporate reception and ceremony together. Regardless, the food was lovely, the people were fantastic, and can you believe they even had fireworks?! Who does this? Well...Aurelie and Richard! It was probably one of the most memorable weddings with the ambiance and the people involved! The party is still going on downstairs and we have to head back tomorrow!!! EEK!

Sorry, I would've wrote more, but I'm a bit tired and have a headache from the drinks people kept passing over to me!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 88, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Dining roomDining room
Dining room

at Chateau des Conde
Chateau des CondeChateau des Conde
Chateau des Conde

Wine tasting
ValleryVallery
Vallery

View from my room
Chateau des CondeChateau des Conde
Chateau des Conde

Wine tasting saturday night
Chateau des CondeChateau des Conde
Chateau des Conde

Wine tasting with my girls
My room My room
My room

At Chateau des Conde
Chateau des CondeChateau des Conde
Chateau des Conde

Food Saturday night
ViewView
View

From my room


10th April 2012

Wow!!! :)
Hi, Nancy! Your cousin's wedding looked AMAZING! Thank you so much for sharing the pics. You're a really good photographer!!! The pics looked professional :) I love the pic of you in the "window" of the castle. Have a great rest of your trip. Your posts/pics are the highlight of my day :) I feel like I'm traveling with you, when the reality is I'm stressed out of my mind at LWD. Looking forward to the rest of your adventures! Love, Aileen
11th April 2012

Yay! I'm so happy! Hope all is well back home! I dont think I wanna go back....
12th April 2012
Me and Yann

Lovely day lovely women ;)
The place was magic Auré and Rich where beautiful, love was in the air, a perfect day !
29th April 2012
Me and Yann

Yes, it was beautiful and magical! xxx

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 38; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb