Letter to Meredith


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Brittany » Rennes
March 14th 2007
Published: March 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MereMereMere

This is Mere. It should be obvious from the picture why I've been friends with her for the past 8 years of my life.
The following is an excerpt from a letter written to one of the best friends a girl could ever ask for.
I've debated for days the decision to deposit this depressing dispatch into the depths of this domain. I feel it is my duty, but undeniably only because there is a deficiency of dramatic developments in my life.
Ahem,


Chere Merdith,

oh, so indeed it is my turn? i was waiting for an actual letter!! i thought this was a quick pre-letter, more along the lines of, 'this is a quick pre-letter to the letter i'm going to write you when i have more time. but i'm thinking about you!' than 'this is a full-on letter. write me back asap!'

our telepathic connection is apparently falty across the ocean. no doubt the magnetism of the earth was disrupted by the total lunar eclipse that took place on the 5th. i know i've been sleeping abnormally poorly all week. you?

no, indeed it is not snowing here in northern france. i heard that the weather is just going absolutely crazy there. while i'm not usually happy that i'm in france, the fact that i'm missing out on what seems to be the shittiest winter in my lifetime brings me solace.

so yeah, france is backhanding my psychologic well-being like a strung-out bitch. i suffer. the french culture is such a cold one... especially comparing it to my warm midwestern upbringing. i think i'm suffering more than my east-coast friends in the program. i'm fucking sick of having to run in the mud and muck on either side of the sidewalk because there are 2 people standing there chatting and are too busy to take ONE HALF STEP out of the fucking way so i can run in a straight line, at a constant pace. i'm also sick to death of having computer problems on the university network, to go visit the help desk only to find that, AGAIN, no one FUCKING SHOWED UP TO WORK. my program directors say glowingly that it's "la liberte" but to me, it's more like social irresponsability and selfishness.

but who am i to say that it's silly not to help an 84 year old woman get up after falling on her back out of a public bus. no, no. it's totally fine for the bus driver to drive away and stop 100 meters down the street because it's ahead of schedule. no big deal. c'est la liberté. c'est la France!

i talk with my host dad about how the french culture is going down the crapper, along with their system of government. it's about time for the 6th Republic. i'm sad that my golden vision of France has been ruined. can you tell i'm bitter? i spend a lot of my time daydreaming about how amazing the spring line at american eagle must be, and what i would order if i were at dunn brother's at that very second...

i know that culture shock goes in a W pattern, and i think i'm at the lowest of the low. if it's not sunny soon, i'm going to bitchslap the next asshole that's too busy chatting on their cellphone to see that there's a decrepit octogenarian that needs their bus seat.

i can't wait to get back in the states. please give me news of any sort. i hope this put you in a GREAT MOOD!!! YAYYY!!!
sending all the love the french haven't sucked out of me...
amy

Advertisement



28th April 2007

This makes me sad :(

Tot: 0.356s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb