Humdrum life of a Traveller


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Auvergne » Vichy
October 4th 2006
Published: October 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SO I just returned from a lovely if not typical Auvergne meal with my BDE Friends, and, while packing for a weekend trip to Dublin, it hit me! My fabulous, exciting life had become, dare I say it, a touch boring. Scheduling flights, taking pictures, reading my travel books until my eyes turn red, it was all of a sudden, passe. Okay, at this moment I know all of you are waiting for me to get back to Canada so you can smack me, but it's true! It seems the extraordinary can become just that- Extra Ordinary. I hoping a couple hot sips of Starbucks and some books in English will boost my spirits about my truly fascinating host country.

I will say that I have become Canada's little expat Joan of Arc (Jean D'Arc over here). I champion everything Canadian (from Avril Lavigne and Celine Dion to Poutine, to our fantastic public education system and health care)! Even the things I hate (re Avril Lavigne and Celine Dion) I find myself waxing lovingly about. Maybe it's the plethora of Americans, maybe its a touch of homesickness creeping into my day to day life, either way, you can call me little Ms Canuck... at least until I get back home.

I am currently working on a number of projects. Firstly, there is the travel website I am launching with Cody Allen (an American MBA student) and Magnus Johansen (a Norwegian business student). Seems a little early, maybe a little random and certainly energetic. It started out as a business project, but our research has indicated that its a promising business oppurtunity, and call us ambitious, we have dove in.

Secondly, I am currently making a compilation CD for those who haven't been carried away by 50 Cent or P. Diddy. I have tentatively titled it "Hip Hop Music You'd be a Fool to Ignore". Against popular belief, held strongly by my parents, hip hop, rap, r&b and all else ghetto is worthwhile to listen to, and its not all about violence and promiscuous women. Let me know if you want a copy and I'll send one across the pond.

I know I said I'd have photos from the Sud de France up by the end of this week, but technology hasn't been behaving itself and both my camera and my ipod (travel essentials for me) have decided to DIE and are hopefully being revived as I type (cross your fingers). Rain or shine though, I promise to have them up soon!

Well, I do need to pack (though travel wise, I can't pack anything from shampoo to cell phones, so theres not much left), as I have some time in Paris and some days in Dublin ahead... Then next week, I take the biggest risk- travelling by car (The French drive like maniacs on tiny streets) on Friday the Thirteenth to Barcelona with a great group of students.

All my love to Canada, and please keep me up to date! I love to hear from all of you.


Advertisement



14th October 2006

I would say no to a copy
Send me 1 pls (your dad)

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb