Sun, Sun, Sun, Baby Come


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Auvergne » Vichy
November 8th 2006
Published: November 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so for those who think a year abroad is all fun in games, here's an update for you!

Since returning to Vichy, I have done nothing but work! Between group meetings (for any of the four projects I have currently), preparing my 20 minute French presentation, student council meetings and my French test, I haven't spent five minutes in peace!

My room has become a total mess- I'm only in here to eat and sleep; otherwise I’ve been living at the school! I’ve been so cooped up inside, I failed to realize the weather warmed up (to 20C today!).

I have started to refer to myself as "the conjugator" as morning, noon and night I practice my verbs- present, past and future, on now raggedy post cards. I do it on my way to school, between classes and before I fall asleep.

Bde (student council) has been very busy- I am spear-heading the belated Halloween bash for tomorrow night, and next week is Student Week in France, so there are plenty of activities to work on. I took over the bde office- putting up my giant Canadian flag and stealing the president’s chair for fun!

My one relief as has been the perpetual texting I have been doing with Ludo, who is coming up for my Halloween shindig tomorrow (I am very excited to see him).

So, it has been a busy couple of days, but luckily, I've had the chance to hang out with, and help out my French buddies (they all had English homework this week, lol) and in turn, they all got to hear my French presentation on anthropology a billion times.


Looking forward to Christmas and Morocco! In an update on that, we are traveling by car through Spain and taking the Ferry across. While I am there, we will be participating in Eid and as is custom, will slaughter a poor, innocent sheep and eat it. Needless to say, Sidi and Ludo are very excited about this and I am mortified. But, I am in anthropology and I wouldn’t get the full Moroccan experience without doing it!




Advertisement



14th November 2006

Schoolwork
Hello Princess, It warms my heart to hear that you are working so hard on your french verbs and cooped up doing schoolwork. I can't imagine it! Love as always, Mardi

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb