Rain in Seignosse


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Seignosse
June 16th 2010
Published: June 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Seignosse yesterday after a day of pacing around Bordeaux, grabbing some big city supplies for the eventual eternal walk in Spain. Bordeaux was interesting. Old broken buildings mixed with fancy cobblestone center city styles. I felt that familiar feeling of being very strange and apart. A yearning to find myself in the middle of something alive, some cultural event, or some surprise invitation to a party or dinner where I'd be swallowed up by a family or a group of young fun people. Alas, I was alone and I walked the walk of the foreigner. I sat and ate cherries on a bench and spit the seeds out and wondered if the pollution police would descend out of the sky in parachutes to arrest me for degrading the land. I flirted with a cashier at Virgin Megastore by asking her questions about books. When I couldn't take the lonely feeling any longer I put on my headphones and heard songs that by now are so familiar to me that they transformed Bordeaux into anyplace and noplace, and suddenly I was cruising down the streets and avenues of New York City, flipping my hat and singing modest mouse lyrics. That was nice. I noticed how I kept a constant awareness of my wallet and passport in my zipped pocket and bag.
Now, the weather is shitty and I am sitting in a comfortable villa in Seignosse which is on the West coast of France. There are five other dudes staying here, four of them Brits and one Canadian, all of them are serial snowboarders and surfers. Nice guys. One of them is cooking chicken for the group for lunch. So I offered to go buy bread at the store around the corner. I donned my brand new shiny red poncho and braved the rain. I won't be able to surf today. Maybe tomorrow. Maybe I'll have to stay through the weekend to get good wave time and really learn something. I have a fantasy of letting the surf guide me all over the world at different points of my life. But then again, I have many fantasies. My brain is Disney World, all ratings included.
Peace out!

Advertisement



16th June 2010

music is your best travel friend
amazing how when we feel totally alone at the other end of the world, those familiar songs make us feel at home.... enjoy your journey, I hope it brings you to Israel. lots of love Nat
16th June 2010

you beautiful bastard
this is wonderful....to be able to hear you speaking all this is just sooooo cool good luck eternal searcher...even if you find nothing, you'll find that you are searching, and perhaps that's enough, perhaps...from the vastness of my mind to the ocean of yours Your Other Brother ;-)
16th June 2010

you beautiful bastard
this is wonderful....to be able to hear you speaking all this is just sooooo cool good luck eternal searcher...even if you find nothing, you'll find that you are searching, and perhaps that's enough, perhaps...from the vastness of my mind to the unending oceans of yours Your Other Brother ;-)

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb